Science Current Events | Science News | Brightsurf.com
 
corner top left block corner top right

The Forever Fix: Gene Therapy and the Boy Who Saved It | Paperback

by Ricki Lewis (Author)


List Price: $16.99  
Price:  $6.86
You Save:  $10.13 (60%)
Available:  Usually ships in 24 hours


Binding:  Paperback
Publisher:  St. Martin's Griffin
Edition:  First Editionth Edition
Page Count:  336 Pages
Publication Date:  January 08, 2013
Sales Rank:  172626th



EDITORIAL REVIEWS


Product Description
Fascinating narrative science that explores the next frontier in medicine and genetics through the very personal prism of the children and families gene therapy has touched.Eight-year-old Corey Haas was nearly blind from a hereditary disorder when his sight was restored through a delicate procedure that made medical history. Like something from a science fiction novel, doctors carefully introduced viruses bearing healing genes into Corey's eyes―a few days later, Corey could see, his sight restored by gene therapy. THE FOREVER FIX is the first book to tell the fascinating story of gene therapy: how it works, the science behind it, how patients (mostly children) have been helped and harmed, and how scientists learned from each trial to get one step closer to its immense promise, the promise of a "forever fix," - a cure that, by fixing problems at their genetic root, does not need further surgery or medication. Told through the voices of the children and families who have been the inspiration, experimental subjects, and successes of genetic science, Ricki Lewis' THE FOREVER FIX is compelling and engaging narrative science that explores the future of medicine as well as the families and scientists who are breaking new ground every day.

SIMILAR PRODUCTS


Cantor's Dilemma: A Novel

Cantor's Dilemma: A Novel
by Carl Djerassi (Author)

When Professor Isidore Cantor reveals his latest breakthrough in cancer research, the scientific community is galvanized. Cantor’s most promising research fellow, Dr. Jeremiah Stafford, has only to conduct the experiment that will prove the brilliant hypothesis and win Cantor the Nobel Prize. But how far will the young assistant go to guarantee the results?

Carl Djerassi draws from his long career as a world-famous scientist to describe the fierce competition driving scientific...

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks
by Rebecca Skloot (Author)

Soon to be an HBO® Film starring Oprah Winfrey and Rose Byrne

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Her name was Henrietta Lacks, but scientists know her as HeLa. She was a poor black tobacco farmer whose cells—taken without her knowledge in 1951—became one of the most important tools in medicine, vital for developing the polio vaccine, cloning, gene mapping, and more. Henrietta's cells have been bought and sold by the billions, yet she remains virtually unknown, and her family...

Principles of Genetics

Principles of Genetics
by D. Peter Snustad (Author), Michael J. Simmons (Author)

Snustad's 6th edition of Principles of Genetics offers many new and advanced features including boxed sections with the latest advances in Genetics, a streamlined roster of topics, a more reader-friendly layout, and new problem-solving supplements. Furthermore, this new edition includes more problem solving within each chapter through the Test Your Problem Solving Skills feature and a Solve It icon to prompt readers to go online to WileyPlus for animated tutorials. A new one-column design...

The Strongest Boy in the World, Updated and Expanded: How Genetic Information is Reshaping Our Lives, Updated and Expanded Edition

The Strongest Boy in the World, Updated and Expanded: How Genetic Information is Reshaping Our Lives, Updated and Expanded Edition
by Philip R. Reilly (Author)

This updated edition of Philip Reilly's highly praised and provocative book has been expanded to include an essay about the fast-moving and controversial field of personal genomics. In the essay, Reilly explains how new, cutting-edge technologies have facilitated the rapid discovery of genetic markers associated with ailments such as macular degeneration, heart disease, and schizophrenia. He describes how the same powerful technologies can be used to interpret the DNA sequence of anyone in the...

Campbell Biology (9th Edition)

Campbell Biology (9th Edition)
by Jane B. Reece (Author), Lisa A. Urry (Author), Michael L. Cain (Author), Steven A. Wasserman (Author), Peter V. Minorsky (Author), Robert B. Jackson (Author)

Helping Students Make Connections Across Biology   Campbell BIOLOGY is the unsurpassed leader in introductory biology. The text’s hallmark values—accuracy, currency, and passion for teaching and learning—have made it the most successful college introductory biology book for eight consecutive editions.   Building on the Key Concepts chapter framework of previous editions, Campbell BIOLOGY, Ninth Edition helps students keep sight of the “big picture” by encouraging them...

Survival of the Sickest: The Surprising Connections Between Disease and Longevity (P.S.)

Survival of the Sickest: The Surprising Connections Between Disease and Longevity (P.S.)
by Sharon Moalem (Author), Jonathan Prince (Author)

Joining the ranks of modern myth busters, Dr. Sharon Moalem turns our current understanding of illness on its head and challenges us to fundamentally change the way we think about our bodies, our health, and our relationship to just about every other living thing on earth. Through a fresh and engaging examination of our evolutionary history, Dr. Moalem reveals how many of the conditions that are diseases today actually gave our ancestors a leg up in the survival sweepstakes. But Survival of the...

The Ghost Map: The Story of London's Most Terrifying Epidemic--and How It Changed Science, Cities, and the Modern World

The Ghost Map: The Story of London's Most Terrifying Epidemic--and How It Changed Science, Cities, and the Modern World
by Steven Johnson (Author)

A National Bestseller, a New York Times Notable Book, and an Entertainment Weekly Best Book of the Year

It's the summer of 1854, and London is just emerging as one of the first modern cities in the world. But lacking the infrastructure-garbage removal, clean water, sewers-necessary to support its rapidly expanding population, the city has become the perfect breeding ground for a terrifying disease no one knows how to cure. As the cholera outbreak takes hold, a physician and a local...

Stem Cell Battles: Proposition 71 and Beyond (How Ordinary People Can Fight Back Against the Crushing Burden of Chronic Disease - with a Posthumous Foreword by Christopher Reeve)

Stem Cell Battles: Proposition 71 and Beyond (How Ordinary People Can Fight Back Against the Crushing Burden of Chronic Disease - with a Posthumous Foreword by Christopher Reeve)
by Don C Reed (Author)

This is a one-of-a-kind book: combining easy-to-understand science, in-the-trenches political warfare, and inspirational stories. It aims to give hope to individuals and families who suffer from chronic disease or disability; to point out how ordinary people can make an extraordinary difference in the battle to ease suffering and save lives through supporting medical research; to share in "people talk" some of the amazing progress already achieved in the new field of stem cell research; to show...

Neanderthal Man: In Search of Lost Genomes

Neanderthal Man: In Search of Lost Genomes
by Svante Pääbo (Author)

ONE OF AMAZON'S TOP 100 BOOKS OF 2014

Neanderthal Man tells the story of geneticist Svante Pääbo's mission to answer this question: what can we learn from the genomes of our closest evolutionary relatives? Beginning with the study of DNA in Egyptian mummies in the early 1980s and culminating in the sequencing of the Neanderthal genome in 2010, Neanderthal Man describes the events, intrigues, failures, and triumphs of these scientifically rich years through the lens of the pioneer and...

One in a Billion: The Story of Nic Volker and the Dawn of Genomic Medicine

One in a Billion: The Story of Nic Volker and the Dawn of Genomic Medicine
by Mark Johnson (Author), Kathleen Gallagher (Author)

The breathtaking story of a young boy with a never-before-seen disease, and the doctors who take a bold step into the future of medicine to save him—based on the authors’ Pulitzer Prize–winning reporting.

In this landmark medical narrative, in the tradition of The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks and The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down, Pulitzer Prize–winning journalists Mark Johnson and Kathleen Gallagher chronicle the story of Nic Volker, the Wisconsin boy at the center of...



Brightsurf.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program
designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com
corner bottom left block corner bottom right
© 2017 BrightSurf.com