Science Current Events | Science News | Brightsurf.com
 
corner top left block corner top right

Orphan: The Quest to Save Children with Rare Genetic Disorders | Hardcover

by Philip R. Reilly (Author)


List Price: $29.00  
Available:  Usually ships in 24 hours


Binding:  Hardcover
Publisher:  Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Press
Edition:  1st Edition
Page Count:  408 Pages
Publication Date:  November 01, 2015
Sales Rank:  236024th



EDITORIAL REVIEWS


Product Description
Orphan is about the struggle to save the lives of children who, because of an unlucky roll of the genetic dice, are born with any one of several thousand rare genetic disorders. Many are burdened with diseases that carry mysterious names, some of which you can read about for the first time in this book, along with compelling stories about the physicians, scientists, and parents who have taken them on. The diseases include phenylketonuria, sickle cell anemia, dystrophic epidermolysis bullosa, X-linked hypohidrotic ectodermal dysplasia, and Friedreich's ataxia-just a few of the more than 1000 genetic disorders that are well-described and many more that are not. Many manifest in infancy. Some show up in mid-childhood, others later in childhood, and still others among adults. They touch almost every extended family. Orphan is more than a book about disease and research--it gives voice to thousands of people who, all too often, have endured terrible illnesses, bravely faced arduous clinical trials, and, sometimes, have gained victories, almost always in silence. This book recounts extraordinary breakthroughs and hopes for the future. Many of the disorders that will end our lives are in some part genetically influenced. We really are all orphans, and this book is for all of us.

SIMILAR PRODUCTS


Vaccinated: One Man's Quest to Defeat the World's Deadliest Diseases

Vaccinated: One Man's Quest to Defeat the World's Deadliest Diseases
by Paul A., M.D. Offit (Author)

His goal—to prevent every disease that commonly attacked children—was unattainable. But Maurice Hilleman came close.Maurice Hilleman is the father of modern vaccines. Chief among his accomplishments are nine vaccines that practically every child gets, rendering formerly deadly diseases—including mumps, rubella, and measles—nearly forgotten.  Author Paul A. Offit’s rich and lively narrative details Hilleman’s research and experiences as the basis for a larger exploration of the...

The Gene: An Intimate History

The Gene: An Intimate History
by Siddhartha Mukherjee (Author)

THE #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
A New York Times Notable Book
A Washington Post and Seattle Times Best Book of the Year

From the Pulitzer Prize-winning, bestselling author of The Emperor of All Maladies—a magnificent history of the gene and a response to the defining question of the future: What becomes of being human when we learn to “read” and “write” our own genetic information?

Siddhartha Mukherjee has a written a biography of the gene as deft, brilliant,...

Bad Faith: When Religious Belief Undermines Modern Medicine

Bad Faith: When Religious Belief Undermines Modern Medicine
by Paul Offit (Author)


In recent years, there have been major outbreaks of whooping cough among children in California, mumps in New York, and measles in Ohio's Amish country—despite the fact that these are all vaccine-preventable diseases. Although America is the most medically advanced place in the world, many people disregard modern medicine in favor of using their faith to fight life threatening illnesses. Christian Scientists pray for healing instead of going to the doctor, Jehovah's Witnesses refuse blood...

The Death of Cancer: After Fifty Years on the Front Lines of Medicine, a Pioneering Oncologist Reveals Why the War on Cancer Is Winnable--and How We Can Get There

The Death of Cancer: After Fifty Years on the Front Lines of Medicine, a Pioneering Oncologist Reveals Why the War on Cancer Is Winnable--and How We Can Get There
by Vincent T. DeVita Jr. M.D. (Author), Elizabeth DeVita-Raeburn (Author)

Cancer touches everybody’s life in one way or another. But most of us know very little about how the disease works, why we treat it the way we do, and the personalities whose dedication got us where we are today. For fifty years, Dr. Vincent T. DeVita Jr. has been one of those key players: he has held just about every major position in the field, and he developed the first successful chemotherapy treatment for Hodgkin’s lymphoma, a breakthrough the American Society of Clinical Oncologists...

Genomic Messages: How the Evolving Science of Genetics Affects Our Health, Families, and Future

Genomic Messages: How the Evolving Science of Genetics Affects Our Health, Families, and Future
by George Annas (Author), Sherman Elias (Author)

Two leaders in the field of genetics—a bioethicist-health lawyer and an obstetrician-gynecologist geneticist—answer the most pressing questions about the application of new genetics to our universal medicine and what personalized medicine means for individual healthcare.Breakthroughs in genetic research are changing modern medicine and pharmaceuticals. But what are these changes and how do they affect our individual care? Genomic Messages examines these groundbreaking changes and the...

One in a Billion: The Story of Nic Volker and the Dawn of Genomic Medicine

One in a Billion: The Story of Nic Volker and the Dawn of Genomic Medicine
by Mark Johnson (Author), Kathleen Gallagher (Author)

The breathtaking story of a young boy with a never-before-seen disease, and the doctors who take a bold step into the future of medicine to save him—based on the authors’ Pulitzer Prize–winning reporting.

In this landmark medical narrative, in the tradition of The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks and The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down, Pulitzer Prize–winning journalists Mark Johnson and Kathleen Gallagher chronicle the story of Nic Volker, the Wisconsin boy at the center of...

Human Genes and Genomes: Science, Health, Society

Human Genes and Genomes: Science, Health, Society
by Leon E. Rosenberg (Author), Diane Drobnis Rosenberg (Author)

In the nearly 60 years since Watson and Crick proposed the double helical structure of DNA, the molecule of heredity, waves of discoveries have made genetics the most thrilling field in the sciences.  The study of genes and genomics today explores all aspects of the life with relevance in the lab, in the doctor’s office, in the courtroom and even in social relationships.   In this helpful guidebook, one of the most respected and accomplished human geneticists of our time communicates the...

The Philadelphia Chromosome: A Mutant Gene and the Quest to Cure Cancer at the Genetic Level (Hardback) - Common

The Philadelphia Chromosome: A Mutant Gene and the Quest to Cure Cancer at the Genetic Level (Hardback) - Common
by Foreword by Robert A Weinberg By (author) Jessica Wapner (Author)

Geschichte Der Alten Bruderkirche: 1457 Bis 1557 (1865)

The Philadelphia Chromosome: A Genetic Mystery, a Lethal Cancer, and the Improbable Invention of a Lifesaving Treatment

The Philadelphia Chromosome: A Genetic Mystery, a Lethal Cancer, and the Improbable Invention of a Lifesaving Treatment
by Jessica Wapner (Author), Robert A. Weinberg PhD (Foreword)

Philadelphia, 1959: A scientist scrutinizing a single human cell under a microscope detects a missing piece of DNA. That scientist, David Hungerford, had no way of knowing that he had stumbled upon the starting point of modern cancer research― the Philadelphia chromosome. It would take doctors and researchers around the world more than three decades to unravel the implications of this landmark discovery. In 1990, the Philadelphia chromosome was recognized as the sole cause of a deadly blood...

Abraham Lincoln's DNA and Other Adventures in Genetics

Abraham Lincoln's DNA and Other Adventures in Genetics
by Philip R Reilly (Author)

Twenty-four true, wide-ranging tales of crime, history, human behavior, illness, and ethics, told from the personal perspective of the author, an eminent physician-lawyer who uses the stories to illustrate the principles of human genetics and to discuss the broader issues.




Brightsurf.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program
designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com
corner bottom left block corner bottom right
© 2017 BrightSurf.com