Science Current Events | Science News | Brightsurf.com
 
corner top left block corner top right

After the Strawberry | Kindle Edition

by Seedpod Publishing


Available:  This product is currently not available


Sales Rank:  813491st



EDITORIAL REVIEWS


Product Description
Lydia Poole wants to be a good person—the kind of person who does everything right and deserves to be loved. To accomplish this, she eats only one cup of Cheerios per day and lets her weight drop below ninety pounds. When Lydia’s sister introduces Jesse, a new friend and filmmaker, Lydia agrees to be the subject of his documentary.Jesse’s camera follows Lydia as she’s hospitalized for anorexia, as she walks the line between hoping for death and wanting life, as her weight continues to fall. With the camera running, Lydia shifts from the viewfinder’s object to the eye behind the camera. In doing so, she discovers how she wants to see her world.After the Strawberry is a novel about a girl who disappears while trying to be seen.What Others Are Saying About After the Strawberry"Kathryn Pope's After the Strawberry has everything I want in a novel: elegant, precise prose, unique, unsettling images, and a compelling, disquieting story. It is a work of real menace and real beauty. Not only that, but she somehow manages to combine the traditional pleasures of storytelling with the adventure of hypertext in ways that are lucid and visually startling. All this is testament to the endless range of her wild imagination and genuine talent. I can't recommend this book highly enough."-Alistair McCartney, author of The End of the World Book: A Novel (University of Wisconsin Press)

SIMILAR PRODUCTS


More Than You Can Chew

More Than You Can Chew
by Tundra Books

Winner of the Society of School Librarians International’s Best Book Award – Language Arts, Grades 7-12 Novels

Winner of the 2005 White Pine Awards, Fiction category

Selected for inclusion in the Best Books for the Teen Age 2004 List by the New York Public Library

Nominated for Snow Willow Award (The Saskatchewan Young Reader’s Choice Awards)

Nominated for the Canadian Library Association’s 2004 Young Adult Canadian Book Award


Letting Ana Go

Letting Ana Go
by Simon Pulse

In the tradition of Go Ask Alice and Lucy in the Sky, a harrowing account of anorexia and addiction.

She was a good girl from a good family, with everything she could want or need. But below the surface, she felt like she could never be good enough. Like she could never live up to the expectations that surrounded her. Like she couldn’t do anything to make a change.

But there was one thing she could control completely: how much she ate. The less she ate, the...

Never Enough

Never Enough
by Simon Pulse

From the author of Losing Faith, a novel about two sisters and the eating disorder that threatens to destroy their family.

Loann’s always wanted to be popular and pretty like her sister, Claire. So when Claire’s ex-boyfriend starts flirting with her, Loann is willing to do whatever it takes to feel special…even if that means betraying her sister.
     But as Loann slips inside Claire’s world, she discovers that everything is not as it seems. Claire’s quest for perfection...

The Best Little Girl in the World

The Best Little Girl in the World

Everyone agreed that Francesca was a model daughter. Quiet, obedient, a good student, she never caused her parents a moment's worry. And then one day her mother noticed that Francesca seemed to be losing weight -- a lot of weight. Francesca was ordered to stop dieting immediately, but still she wouldn't eat. And then the nightmare began, because Francesca was starving herself to death.

In this riveting story of a young girl's self-destructive obsession, author Steven Levenkron draws...

Beautiful Me

Beautiful Me
by Balboa Press

Talia is seventeen, weighs thirty-one kilos, and has been committed to a psychiatric unit. Ever wondered what was inside the mind of an anorexic? This is her journal, Beautiful Me.


Where the Monster Weights: How Anorexia Held Me Hostage

Where the Monster Weights: How Anorexia Held Me Hostage
by Balboa Press

This true story is more than one girl's struggle against the mental illness of an eating disorder. Corinne's journey propels the reader through teenage insecurities and doubts with honest and raw descriptions of the breakdown of the relationship with her twin brother, abandonment from her mother, the loss of her first love, the pain of isolation, and her resulting lack of self-worth. Corinne's weaknesses and willingness to die manifest themselves as her illness grows. But through faith,...

Skinny

Skinny
by Point

Hopeless. Freak. Elephant. Pitiful. These are the words of Skinny, the vicious voice that lives inside fifteen-year-old Ever Davies's head. Skinny tells Ever all the dark thoughts her classmates have about her. Ever knows she weighs over three hundred pounds, knows she'll probably never be loved, and Skinny makes sure she never forgets it.

But there is another voice: Ever's singing voice, which is beautiful but has been silenced by Skinny. Partly in the hopes of trying out for the...

Mistrust

Mistrust

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING YA NOVEL I'm the popular girl at school.
The one everyone wants to be friends with.
I have the best boyfriend in the world, who's on the basketball team.
My parents adore me, and I absolutely love them. My sister and I have a great relationship too.
I'm a cheerleader, I have a high GPA and I'm liked even by the teachers.
It was a night which promised to be filled with love and fun until...something happened which changed...

Massive

Massive
by Macmillan Children's Books

Weight has always been a big issue in Carmen's life. Not surprising when her mum is obsessed with the idea that thin equals beauty, thin equals success, thin equals the way to get what you want. And somehow her daughter is going to be thin.When her mother sweeps her off to live in the city, Carmen finds her old world disappearing. With everything to gain and absolutely nothing to lose. Carmen starts to ask: if she was thin, very thin, could it all be different?A new cover edition of Julia...

thinandbeautiful.com

thinandbeautiful.com
by Second Story Press

Enter the underground world of "thinspiration" websites. Seventeen-year-old Maddie has always felt a hole in her life, but she has finally found a way to fill it with her quest to mold her body into her ideal, thinnest shape. When she comes across the wor



Brightsurf.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program
designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com
corner bottom left block corner bottom right
© 2017 BrightSurf.com