Science Current Events | Science News | Brightsurf.com
 

Beavers restore dead wood in boreal forests

November 24, 2015

Dead wood has decreased dramatically in the boreal zone due to intensive forest management. Several species dependent on dead wood have suffered from this decline. Beavers dam water systems, raising floods into surrounding shore forests. The flooding kills the trees due to oxygen deprivation.

Researchers at the University of Helsinki, Finland, compared dead wood quantities and types in southern Finland. The shore forests of beaver sites had significantly larger quantities of dead wood compared to non-beaver sites. Beavers use wood for nutrition and as the building material for their nests and dams. This wood resource is used up by the beavers' actions within a few years, forcing the beavers to change location. This creates several dead wood hotspots in the area, benefitting a large number of species.

Certain dead wood types have become exceptionally rare in managed forests, e.g. standing dead trees (snags) and deciduous dead wood. Beavers create a wide variety of dead wood types, but they particularly produce standing and deciduous dead wood. The dead wood-dependent species living at beaver sites may differ from those found in managed forests or fire areas.

Doctoral student Stella Thompson suggests: "Beavers could be used to aid and uphold dead wood production in dead wood-poor lowland boreal forests. The species would concurrently facilitate the restoration and conservation of wetlands, which are one of the most endangered ecosystems in the world."

University of Helsinki


Related Dead Wood Current Events and Dead Wood News Articles


Parasitic tapeworm influences behavior and lifespan of uninfected members of ant colonies
Ants are quite often infected by parasites. For example, tapeworms use ants as intermediate hosts for a part of their development phase before they complete their life cycle in their main host.

Partially logged rainforests could be emitting more carbon than previously thought
Global carbon emissions from forests could have been underestimated because calculations have not fully accounted for the dead wood from logging.

Tree killers, yes, fire starters, no: Mountain pine beetles get a bad rap, study says
Mountain pine beetles get a bad rap, and understandably so. The grain-of-rice-sized insects are responsible for killing pine trees over tens of millions of acres in the Western U.S. and Canada over the last decade.

Climate change to increase forest fire danger in Europe
Climate change is expected to contribute to a dramatic increase in forest fire damage in Europe, but better forest management could mitigate the problem, according to new research from the International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA).

New study reveals the effect of habitat fragmentation on the forest carbon cycle
Drier conditions at the edges of forest patches slow down the decay of dead wood and significantly alter the cycling of carbon and nutrients in woodland ecosystems, according to a new study.

Logging and burning cause the loss of 54 million tons of carbon a year in Amazonia
A study conducted by scientists in Brazil and the United Kingdom has quantified the impact that selective logging, partial destruction by burning, and fragmentation resulting from the development of pastures and plantations have had on the Amazon rainforest.

Sunken logs create new worlds for seafloor animals
When it comes to food, most of the deep sea is a desert. Many seafloor animals feed on marine snow-the organic remnants of algae and animals that live in the sunlit surface waters, far above.

Biodiversity in production forests can be improved without large costs
Forest management is based on recommendations that are supposed to maximize economic revenues. However, in 40% of cases a better economic result would be achieved by neglecting some of the recommendations. This would also greatly benefit biodiversity.

Traditional forest management reduces fungal diversity
There is a shortage of dead wood in forests because fallen branches and trees tend to be cleared away. This wood, if available, ought to be decomposing, as it is the habitat of many living beings like lignicolous fungi.

Survival of the fittest: Predator wasps breed at the expense of spider juveniles
Two wasp species, Calymmochilus dispar and Gelis apterus, have been recorded as parasitoids on ant-eating spiders in a study published in the open access journal ZooKeys.
More Dead Wood Current Events and Dead Wood News Articles

Dead Wood (A Hardboiled Private Investigator Mystery Series): John Rockne Mysteries 1

Dead Wood (A Hardboiled Private Investigator Mystery Series): John Rockne Mysteries 1
by Slogan Books


In the exclusive enclave of Grosse Pointe, Michigan, a woman who builds custom guitars is murdered. A disgraced ex-cop turned private investigator is hired by the dead woman’s father and immediately becomes the target of a violent ex-convict. An enigmatic music star performs damage control on her links to the dead woman. And a professional killer who idolizes Keith Richards is brought into town by a mysterious employer.

Dead Wood is what great mysteries are all about: love, hate, faith and vengeance, all wrapped up in an explosive story that simply refuses to let up.

“Dead Wood is a fast-paced, unpredictable mystery with an engaging narrator and a rich cast of original supporting characters.” –Thomas Perry, Edgar-winning author of The Butcher’s Boy.
New York Dead (Stone Barrington)

New York Dead (Stone Barrington)
by Stuart Woods (Author)


Everyone is always telling Stone Barrington that he's too smart to be a cop, but it's pure luck that places him on the streets in the dead of night, just in time to witness the horrifying incident that turns his life inside out.Suddenly he's on the front page of every New York newspaper, and his life is hopelessly entwined in the increasingly shocking life (and perhaps death) of Sasha Nijinsky, the country's hottest and most beautiful television anchorwoman.No matter where he turns, the case is waiting for him, haunting his nights and turning his days into a living hell. Stone finds himself caught in a perilous web of unspeakable crimes, dangerous friends, and sexual depravity that has throughout it one common thread: Sasha.

Dead in the Water: A Novel (Stone Barrington)

Dead in the Water: A Novel (Stone Barrington)
by Stuart Woods (Author)


Stone Barrington only wants a winter getaway from the chill of New York in the beautiful, tropical Caribbean paradise of St. Mark's. But what the lawyer and ex-cop gets instead is the chance to defend Allison Manning. The beautiful young woman stands accused of killing her rich husband on board their luxurious yacht and then burying him at sea.Stone isn't exactly conversant with the island country's law, but this much is clear to him: Allison is being railroaded by the perverse sense of justice of a prosecutor who will do anything to stay in office. Donning the robe and wig of a British barrister, Stone does everything he can to save Allison—from publicizing the case all over the American press to conducting the kind of smart, tough investigation that money can't buy. Just when he has...

Beverly Hills Dead (Rick Barron Novel)

Beverly Hills Dead (Rick Barron Novel)
by Stuart Woods (Author)


1940s Hollywood comes alive in this sequel to The Prince of Beverly Hills.

Rick Barron—former Beverly Hills cop, now head of production of Centurion pictures—returns in a page turning novel of murder, political intrigue, and betrayal. Set in 1940s Hollywood, it is the era of the “Red Scare”—when almost anyone could be suspect.

Dead Eyes

Dead Eyes
by Stuart Woods (Author)


First there were roses and the notes in her mailbox signed simply, "Admirer." Then, the accident. One minute Chris Callaway was one of Hollywood's brightest rising stars, starting a new picture that could send her career skyrocketing; the next, she was falling from the unfinished deck of her beautiful new Malibu beach house . . . waking up blind, uncertain whether she would ever see again.An optimist and a fighter, Chris is determined not to let anyone know she can barely see. But neither Danny Devere, her hairdresser and confidant, nor Jon Larsen, the handsome young detective from LAPD's special stalker squad, can stop the notes that escalate into a chilling obsession. And only a clever trap can stop the madman from stalking her—with beautiful Chris Callaway as the deadly...

L.A. Dead (A Stone Barrington Novel)

L.A. Dead (A Stone Barrington Novel)
by Stuart Woods (Author)


Cop-turned-lawyer-and-investigator Stone Barrington ventures out to the west coast-and out on a limb-in this "stylish whodunit" (Detroit News) filled with romance and murder from the bestselling author of The Run and Worst Fears Realized.

Stone's trip to Venice-with a fiery Mafia princess-is cut short by a frantic phone call from half a world away. A celebrity murder has Los Angeles in an uproar and has a former flame pining for Stone's help-in more ways than one...

D.C. Dead (A Stone Barrington Novel)

D.C. Dead (A Stone Barrington Novel)
by Stuart Woods (Author)


A new city brings new life to Stone Barrington as Stuart Woods’s bestselling series continues…

After a shocking loss, Stone Barrington is at loose ends, unsure if he wants to stay in New York and continue his work as a partner at Woodman and Weld. It comes as a welcome relief when he’s summoned to Washington, D.C., by President Will Lee. The President has a special operation that calls for Stone’s unique skill set, and it’s a mission that will reunite him with his former partner in bed and in crime, Holly Barker.

Bel-Air Dead: A Stone Barrington Novel

Bel-Air Dead: A Stone Barrington Novel
by Stuart Woods (Author)


Stone is no stranger to Bel-Air-and to the beautiful and wealthy widow who needs his help to become even wealthier. At stake is the sale of her investment in-and the resulting dissolution of-Hollywood's world-famous Centurion Studios. But when Stone arrives in Bel-Air to finalize the sale, he discovers that one of L.A.'s most rapacious power brokers has Centurion in his sights...

Santa Fe Dead (Ed Eagle Novel)

Santa Fe Dead (Ed Eagle Novel)
by Stuart Woods (Author)


OUR FAVORITE LEGAL EAGLE LANDS IN NEW MEXICO

Attorney Ed Eagle thinks he?s safe from his black widow ex-wife, who is now in police custody. But when she escapes, she spins a new web that just might trap him?and everyone he loves.

Dead End Fix: A Justice Novel

Dead End Fix: A Justice Novel
by Alibi


Fear and violence come home to roost in this exhilarating Justice thriller featuring The Fixer—a roller-coaster ride for readers of Lisa Gardner, Karin Slaughter, and Jeff Lindsay’s Dexter novels.
 
I’ll bring Hadley home. Whatever it takes. Whatever it costs. Whoever has to die.
 
There’s a gang war unfolding on the streets of Seattle. A young boy has been killed in a drive-by shooting, and the ensuing chaos threatens to engulf the city. Normally, chief of detectives Mort Grant would be dealing with the fallout—but right now, his mind is elsewhere. . . .
 
In one gut-wrenching phone call, Mort’s worst fears are realized. His granddaughter Hadley has been kidnapped, and the culprit is his own flesh and blood: Allie, his daughter and...

© 2017 BrightSurf.com