Nav: Home

The Trouble With Testosterone: And Other Essays On The Biology Of The Human Predicament | Paperback

by Robert M. Sapolsky (Author)


List Price: $17.00  
Price:  $14.41
You Save:  $2.59 (15%)
Available:  Usually ships in 24 hours
FREE Shipping on Qualified Orders
» View Details


Binding:  Paperback
Publisher:  Scribner
Edition:  1st Edition
Page Count:  288 Pages
Publication Date:  April 24, 1998
Sales Rank:  343163rd


FEATURES


• Scribner


EDITORIAL REVIEWS


Product Description
Finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize From the man who Oliver Sacks hailed as “one of the best scientist/writers of our time,” a collection of sharply observed, uproariously funny essays on the biology of human culture and behavior.In the tradition of Stephen Jay Gould and Oliver Sacks, Robert Sapolsky offers a sparkling and erudite collection of essays about science, the world, and our relation to both. “The Trouble with Testosterone” explores the influence of that notorious hormone on male aggression. “Curious George’s Pharmacy” reexamines recent exciting claims that wild primates know how to medicate themselves with forest plants. “Junk Food Monkeys” relates the adventures of a troop of baboons who stumble upon a tourist garbage dump. And “Circling the Blanket for God” examines the neurobiological roots underlying religious belief. Drawing on his career as an evolutionary biologist and neurobiologist, Robert Sapolsky writes about the natural world vividly and insightfully. With candor, humor, and rich observations, these essays marry cutting-edge science with humanity, illuminating the interconnectedness of the world’s inhabitants with skill and flair.

SIMILAR PRODUCTS


Monkeyluv: And Other Essays on Our Lives as Animals

Monkeyluv: And Other Essays on Our Lives as Animals
by Robert M. Sapolsky (Author)
Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers, Third Edition

Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers, Third Edition
by Robert M. Sapolsky (Author)
A Primate's Memoir: A Neuroscientist's Unconventional Life Among the Baboons

A Primate's Memoir: A Neuroscientist's Unconventional Life Among the Baboons
by Robert M. Sapolsky (Author)
Behave: The Biology of Humans at Our Best and Worst

Behave: The Biology of Humans at Our Best and Worst
by Robert M. Sapolsky (Author)
Behave: The Biology of Humans at Our Best and Worst

Behave: The Biology of Humans at Our Best and Worst
by Robert M. Sapolsky (Author)
What Anthropologists Do

What Anthropologists Do
by Veronica Strang (Author)
Brain on Fire: My Month of Madness

Brain on Fire: My Month of Madness
by Susannah Cahalan (Author)
Chaos: Making a New Science

Chaos: Making a New Science
by James Gleick (Author)
The Man Who Mistook His Wife For A Hat: And Other Clinical Tales

The Man Who Mistook His Wife For A Hat: And Other Clinical Tales
by Oliver Sacks (Author)
Introducing Pure Mathematics

Introducing Pure Mathematics
by Robert Smedley (Author)

Best Science Podcasts 2018

We have hand picked the best science podcasts for 2018. Sit back and enjoy new science podcasts updated daily from your favorite science news services and scientists.
Now Playing: TED Radio Hour

Dying Well
Is there a way to talk about death candidly, without fear ... and even with humor? How can we best prepare for it with those we love? This hour, TED speakers explore the beauty of life ... and death. Guests include lawyer Jason Rosenthal, humorist Emily Levine, banker and travel blogger Michelle Knox, mortician Caitlin Doughty, and entrepreneur Lux Narayan.
Now Playing: Science for the People

#492 Flint Water Crisis
This week we dig into the Flint water crisis: what happened, how it got so bad, what turned the tide, what's still left to do, and the mix of science, politics, and activism that are still needed to finish pulling Flint out of the crisis. We spend the hour with Dr Mona Hanna-Attisha, a physician, scientist, activist, the founder and director of the Pediatric Public Health Initiative, and author of the book "What the Eyes Don't See: A Story of Crisis, Resistance, and Hope in an American City".