Nav: Home

The Trouble With Testosterone: And Other Essays On The Biology Of The Human Predicament | Paperback

by Robert M. Sapolsky (Author)


List Price: $17.00  
Price:  $12.84
You Save:  $4.16 (24%)
Available:  Usually ships in 24 hours
FREE Shipping on Qualified Orders
» View Details


Binding:  Paperback
Publisher:  Scribner
Edition:  1st Edition
Page Count:  288 Pages
Publication Date:  April 24, 1998
Sales Rank:  120953rd


FEATURES


• Scribner


EDITORIAL REVIEWS


Product Description
Finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize From the man who Oliver Sacks hailed as “one of the best scientist/writers of our time,” a collection of sharply observed, uproariously funny essays on the biology of human culture and behavior.In the tradition of Stephen Jay Gould and Oliver Sacks, Robert Sapolsky offers a sparkling and erudite collection of essays about science, the world, and our relation to both. “The Trouble with Testosterone” explores the influence of that notorious hormone on male aggression. “Curious George’s Pharmacy” reexamines recent exciting claims that wild primates know how to medicate themselves with forest plants. “Junk Food Monkeys” relates the adventures of a troop of baboons who stumble upon a tourist garbage dump. And “Circling the Blanket for God” examines the neurobiological roots underlying religious belief. Drawing on his career as an evolutionary biologist and neurobiologist, Robert Sapolsky writes about the natural world vividly and insightfully. With candor, humor, and rich observations, these essays marry cutting-edge science with humanity, illuminating the interconnectedness of the world’s inhabitants with skill and flair.

SIMILAR PRODUCTS


Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers, Third Edition

Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers, Third Edition
by Robert M. Sapolsky (Author)
A Primate's Memoir: A Neuroscientist's Unconventional Life Among the Baboons

A Primate's Memoir: A Neuroscientist's Unconventional Life Among the Baboons
by Robert M. Sapolsky (Author)
Monkeyluv: And Other Essays on Our Lives as Animals

Monkeyluv: And Other Essays on Our Lives as Animals
by Robert M. Sapolsky (Author)
Behave: The Biology of Humans at Our Best and Worst

Behave: The Biology of Humans at Our Best and Worst
by Robert M. Sapolsky (Author)
Behave: The Biology of Humans at Our Best and Worst

Behave: The Biology of Humans at Our Best and Worst
by Robert M. Sapolsky (Author)
Chaos: Making a New Science

Chaos: Making a New Science
by James Gleick (Author)
What Anthropologists Do

What Anthropologists Do
by Veronica Strang (Author)
Brain on Fire: My Month of Madness

Brain on Fire: My Month of Madness
by Susannah Cahalan (Author)
The Man Who Mistook His Wife For A Hat: And Other Clinical Tales

The Man Who Mistook His Wife For A Hat: And Other Clinical Tales
by Oliver Sacks (Author)
How Emotions Are Made

How Emotions Are Made
by Lisa Barrett (Author)

Best Science Podcasts 2018

We have hand picked the best science podcasts for 2018. Sit back and enjoy new science podcasts updated daily from your favorite science news services and scientists.
Now Playing: TED Radio Hour

Circular
We're told if the economy is growing, and if we keep producing, that's a good thing. But at what cost? This hour, TED speakers explore circular systems that regenerate and re-use what we already have. Guests include economist Kate Raworth, environmental activist Tristram Stuart, landscape architect Kate Orff, entrepreneur David Katz, and graphic designer Jessi Arrington.
Now Playing: Science for the People

#503 Postpartum Blues (Rebroadcast)
When a woman gives birth, it seems like everyone wants to know how the baby is doing. What does it weigh? Is it breathing right? Did it cry? But it turns out that, in the United States, we're not doing to great at asking how the mom, who just pushed something the size of a pot roast out of something the size of a Cheerio, is doing. This week we talk to anthropologist Kate Clancy about her postpartum experience and how it is becoming distressingly common, and we speak with Julie Wiebe about prolapse, what it is and how it's...