Science Current Events | Science News | Brightsurf.com
corner top left block corner top right

Orphan: The Quest to Save Children with Rare Genetic Disorders | Hardcover

by Philip R. Reilly (Author)


List Price: $29.00  
Price:  $21.24
You Save:  $7.76 (27%)
Available:  Usually ships in 24 hours


Binding:  Hardcover
Publisher:  Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Press
Edition:  1st Edition
Page Count:  408 Pages
Publication Date:  November 01, 2015
Sales Rank:  837442nd



EDITORIAL REVIEWS


Product Description
Orphan is about the struggle to save the lives of children who, because of an unlucky roll of the genetic dice, are born with any one of several thousand rare genetic disorders. Many are burdened with diseases that carry mysterious names, some of which you can read about for the first time in this book, along with compelling stories about the physicians, scientists, and parents who have taken them on. The diseases include phenylketonuria, sickle cell anemia, dystrophic epidermolysis bullosa, X-linked hypohidrotic ectodermal dysplasia, and Friedreich's ataxia-just a few of the more than 1000 genetic disorders that are well-described and many more that are not. Many manifest in infancy. Some show up in mid-childhood, others later in childhood, and still others among adults. They touch almost every extended family. Orphan is more than a book about disease and research--it gives voice to thousands of people who, all too often, have endured terrible illnesses, bravely faced arduous clinical trials, and, sometimes, have gained victories, almost always in silence. This book recounts extraordinary breakthroughs and hopes for the future. Many of the disorders that will end our lives are in some part genetically influenced. We really are all orphans, and this book is for all of us.

SIMILAR PRODUCTS


The Gene: An Intimate History

The Gene: An Intimate History
by Siddhartha Mukherjee (Author)

THE #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
A New York Times Notable Book
A Washington Post and Seattle Times Best Book of the Year

From the Pulitzer Prize-winning, bestselling author of The Emperor of All Maladies—a magnificent history of the gene and a response to the defining question of the future: What becomes of being human when we learn to “read” and “write” our own genetic information?

Siddhartha Mukherjee has a written a biography of the gene as deft, brilliant,...

Vaccinated: One Man's Quest to Defeat the World's Deadliest Diseases

Vaccinated: One Man's Quest to Defeat the World's Deadliest Diseases
by Paul A., M.D. Offit (Author)

His goal—to prevent every disease that commonly attacked children—was unattainable. But Maurice Hilleman came close.Maurice Hilleman is the father of modern vaccines. Chief among his accomplishments are nine vaccines that practically every child gets, rendering formerly deadly diseases—including mumps, rubella, and measles—nearly forgotten.  Author Paul A. Offit’s rich and lively narrative details Hilleman’s research and experiences as the basis for a larger exploration of the...

Bad Faith: When Religious Belief Undermines Modern Medicine

Bad Faith: When Religious Belief Undermines Modern Medicine
by Paul Offit (Author)


In recent years, there have been major outbreaks of whooping cough among children in California, mumps in New York, and measles in Ohio's Amish country—despite the fact that these are all vaccine-preventable diseases. Although America is the most medically advanced place in the world, many people disregard modern medicine in favor of using their faith to fight life threatening illnesses. Christian Scientists pray for healing instead of going to the doctor, Jehovah's Witnesses refuse blood...

The Cure: How a Father Raised $100 Million--and Bucked the Medical Establishment--in a Quest to Save His Children

The Cure: How a Father Raised $100 Million--and Bucked the Medical Establishment--in a Quest to Save His Children
by Geeta Anand (Author)

“Amazing….Explores human courage under the most trying circumstances.” —New York Post “An inspirational story about business, medical science, and one father’s refusal to give up hope.” —Boston Globe The book that inspired the movie, Extraordinary Measures, starring Harrison Ford, Brendan Fraser, and Keri Russell, The Cure by Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Geeta Anand is the remarkable true story of one father’s determination to find a cure for his terminally sick...

A Crack in Creation: Gene Editing and the Unthinkable Power to Control Evolution

A Crack in Creation: Gene Editing and the Unthinkable Power to Control Evolution
by Jennifer A. Doudna (Author), Samuel H. Sternberg (Author)

A trailblazing biologist grapples with her role in the biggest scientific discovery of our era: a cheap, easy way of rewriting genetic code, with nearly limitless promise and peril.

Not since the atomic bomb has a technology so alarmed its inventors that they warned the world about its use. Not, that is, until the spring of 2015, when biologist Jennifer Doudna called for a worldwide moratorium on the use of the new gene-editing tool CRISPR—a revolutionary new technology that she...

The Death of Cancer: After Fifty Years on the Front Lines of Medicine, a Pioneering Oncologist Reveals Why the War on Cancer Is Winnable--and How We Can Get There

The Death of Cancer: After Fifty Years on the Front Lines of Medicine, a Pioneering Oncologist Reveals Why the War on Cancer Is Winnable--and How We Can Get There
by Vincent T. DeVita Jr. M.D. (Author), Elizabeth DeVita-Raeburn (Author)

Cancer touches everybody’s life in one way or another. But most of us know very little about how the disease works, why we treat it the way we do, and the personalities whose dedication got us where we are today. For fifty years, Dr. Vincent T. DeVita Jr. has been one of those key players: he has held just about every major position in the field, and he developed the first successful chemotherapy treatment for Hodgkin’s lymphoma, a breakthrough the American Society of Clinical Oncologists...

One in a Billion: The Story of Nic Volker and the Dawn of Genomic Medicine

One in a Billion: The Story of Nic Volker and the Dawn of Genomic Medicine
by Mark Johnson (Author), Kathleen Gallagher (Author)

The breathtaking story of a young boy with a never-before-seen disease, and the doctors who take a bold step into the future of medicine to save him—based on the authors’ Pulitzer Prize–winning reporting.

In this landmark medical narrative, in the tradition of The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks and The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down, Pulitzer Prize–winning journalists Mark Johnson and Kathleen Gallagher chronicle the story of Nic Volker, the Wisconsin boy at the center of...

Genomic Messages: How the Evolving Science of Genetics Affects Our Health, Families, and Future

Genomic Messages: How the Evolving Science of Genetics Affects Our Health, Families, and Future
by George Annas (Author), Sherman Elias (Author)

Two leaders in the field of genetics—a bioethicist-health lawyer and an obstetrician-gynecologist geneticist—answer the most pressing questions about the application of new genetics to our universal medicine and what personalized medicine means for individual healthcare.Breakthroughs in genetic research are changing modern medicine and pharmaceuticals. But what are these changes and how do they affect our individual care? Genomic Messages examines these groundbreaking changes and the...

The Gene: An Intimate History

The Gene: An Intimate History
by Siddhartha Mukherjee (Author)

THE #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
A New York Times Notable Book
A Washington Post and Seattle Times Best Book of the Year

From the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Emperor of All Maladies—a fascinating history of the gene and “a magisterial account of how human minds have laboriously, ingeniously picked apart what makes us tick” (Elle).

“Dr. Siddhartha Mukherjee dazzled readers with his Pulitzer Prize-winning The Emperor of All Maladies in 2010. That...

Carrier: Untangling the Danger in My DNA

Carrier: Untangling the Danger in My DNA
by Bonnie J Rough (Author)

When Bonnie J. Rough receives the test results that confirm she is a carrier of the genetic condition hypohidrotic ectodermal dysplasia, or H.E.D., it propels her on a journey deep into her family’s past in the American West.
At first glance, H.E.D. seems only to be a superficial condition: a peculiar facial bone structure, sparse hair, few teeth, and an inability to sweat. But a closer look reveals the source of a lifetime of infections, breathing problems, and drug dependency for...



Brightsurf.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program
designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com
corner bottom left block corner bottom right
© 2017 BrightSurf.com