Nav: Home

The Stress-Proof Brain: Master Your Emotional Response to Stress Using Mindfulness and Neuroplasticity | Paperback

by Melanie Greenberg PhD (Author)


List Price: $17.95  
Price:  $12.87
You Save:  $5.08 (28%)


Binding:  Paperback
Publisher:  New Harbinger Publications
Edition:  1st Edition
Page Count:  224 Pages
Publication Date:  February 02, 2017
Sales Rank:  13736th


FEATURES


• The Stress Proof Brain Master Your Emotional Response to Stress Using Mindfulness and Neuroplasticity


EDITORIAL REVIEWS


Product Description
“For people suffering from stress, this book is a godsend.” —Kristin Neff, PhD, author of Self-Compassion "Highly recommended for mental health professionals and consumer health readers looking to manage stress." —Library Journal (starred review) Modern times are stressful—and it’s killing us. Unfortunately, we can’t avoid the things that stress us out, but we can change how we respond to them. In this breakthrough book, a clinical psychologist and neuroscience expert offers an original approach to help readers harness the power of positive emotions and overcome stress for good.Stress is, unfortunately, a natural part of life—especially in our busy and hectic modern times. But you don’t have to let it get in the way of your health and happiness. Studies show that the key to coping with stress is simpler than you think—it’s all about how you respond to the situations and things that stress you out or threaten to overwhelm you.The Stress-Proof Brain offers powerful, comprehensive tools based in mindfulness, neuroscience, and positive psychology to help you put a stop to unhealthy responses to stress—such as avoidance, tunnel vision, negative thinking, self-criticism, fixed mindset, and fear. Instead, you’ll discover unique exercises that provide a recipe for resilience, empowering you to master your emotional responses, overcome negative thinking, and create a more tolerant, stress-proof brain.This book will help you develop an original and effective program for mastering your emotional brain’s response to stress by harnessing the power of neuroplasticity. By creating a more stress tolerant, resilient brain, you’ll learn to shrug off the small stuff, deal with the big stuff, and live a happier, healthier life.

SIMILAR PRODUCTS


Emotional Agility: Get Unstuck, Embrace Change, and Thrive in Work and Life

Emotional Agility: Get Unstuck, Embrace Change, and Thrive in Work and Life
by Susan David (Author)

#1 Wall Street Journal Best Seller
USA Today Best Seller
Amazon Best Book of 2016

The counterintuitive approach to achieving your true potential, heralded by the Harvard Business Review as a groundbreaking idea of the year.

 
The path to personal and professional fulfillment is rarely straight. Ask anyone who has achieved his or her biggest goals or whose relationships thrive and you’ll hear stories of many unexpected detours along the way....
Don't Feed the Monkey Mind: How to Stop the Cycle of Anxiety, Fear, and Worry

Don't Feed the Monkey Mind: How to Stop the Cycle of Anxiety, Fear, and Worry
by Jennifer Shannon LMFT (Author), Doug Shannon (Illustrator), Michael A. Tompkins PhD ABPP (Illustrator)

The very things we do to control anxiety can make anxiety worse. This unique guide offers a cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT)-based approach to help you recognize the constant chatter of your anxious “monkey mind,” stop feeding anxious thoughts, and find the personal peace you crave.

Ancient sages compared the human mind to a monkey: constantly chattering, hopping from branch to branch—endlessly moving from fear to safety. If you are one of the millions of people whose...

Stress-Proof: The Scientific Solution to Protect Your Brain and Body--and Be More Resilient Every Day

Stress-Proof: The Scientific Solution to Protect Your Brain and Body--and Be More Resilient Every Day
by Mithu Storoni (Author)

Discover simple, science-based strategies for beating stress at its own game

When’s the best time to exercise – and how much is too much?
Which foods fortify the brain, and which do the opposite?
How can we use music, movement, and motivation to boost our rational brain and keep our cool no matter what life throws our way?
 
Short bursts of stress are an inevitable part of modern life. But how much is too much? Research is uncovering the delicate balance that...
The Eureka Factor: Aha Moments, Creative Insight, and the Brain

The Eureka Factor: Aha Moments, Creative Insight, and the Brain
by John Kounios (Author), Mark Beeman (Author)

In a book perfect for readers of Charles Duhigg’s The Power of Habit, David Eagleman’s Incognito, and Leonard Mlodinow’s Subliminal, the cognitive neuroscientists who discovered how the brain has aha moments—sudden creative insights—explain how they happen, when we need them, and how we can have more of them to enrich our lives and empower personal and professional success.
 
Eureka or aha moments are sudden realizations that expand our...
The Relaxation and Stress Reduction Workbook (New Harbinger Self-Help Workbook)

The Relaxation and Stress Reduction Workbook (New Harbinger Self-Help Workbook)
by Martha Davis (Author), Elizabeth Robbins Eshelman (Author), Matthew McKay (Author)

The Relaxation and Stress Reduction Workbook broke new ground when it was first published in 1980, detailing easy, step-by-step techniques for calming the body and mind in an increasingly overstimulated world. Now in its sixth edition, this workbook, highly regarded by therapists and their clients, remains the go-to source for stress reduction strategies that can be incorporated into even the busiest lives.

This new edition is updated with powerful relaxation techniques based on...

Shortchanged: Life and Debt in the Fringe Economy by Howard Karger (2005-09-01)

Shortchanged: Life and Debt in the Fringe Economy by Howard Karger (2005-09-01)
by Howard Karger (Author)

The Addictive Organization: Why We Overwork, Cover Up, Pick Up the Pieces, Please the Boss, and Perpetuate S

The Addictive Organization: Why We Overwork, Cover Up, Pick Up the Pieces, Please the Boss, and Perpetuate S
by Anne Wilson Schaef (Author)

Schaef and Fassel show how managers, workers, and organization members exhibit the classic symptoms of addiction: denying and avoiding problems, assuming that there is no other way of acting, and manipulating events to maintain the status quo.

Solve for Happy: Engineer Your Path to Joy

Solve for Happy: Engineer Your Path to Joy
by Mo Gawdat (Author)

Mo Gawdat is a remarkable thinker and the Chief Business Officer at Google’s [X], an elite team of engineers that comprise Google’s futuristic “dream factory.” Applying his superior skills of logic and problem solving to the issue of happiness, he proposes an algorithm based on an understanding of how the brain takes in and processes joy and sadness. Then he solves for happy.

In 2001 Mo Gawdat realized that despite his incredible success, he was desperately unhappy. A lifelong...
7 Mindsets of Success: What You Really Need to Do to Achieve Rapid, Top-Level Success

7 Mindsets of Success: What You Really Need to Do to Achieve Rapid, Top-Level Success
by Sten Morgan (Author)

In The Seven Mindsets of Success, readers will not only explore topics like embracing discomfort, healthy conflict, time management, perspective, safety nets, and future self, but the intrinsic motivation behind their success. They will learn secrets and steps that are easily overlooked in business today. They will weigh the cost of their success and ask themselves, “Am I willing to do everything it takes?”

What if success could be as easy as changing your mindset to see...
The End of Stress: Four Steps to Rewire Your Brain

The End of Stress: Four Steps to Rewire Your Brain
by Don Joseph Goewey (Author)

We all know that stress is serious. If ignored too long, it becomes life-threateningly serious. Yet 83 percent of Americans are doing nothing about it. Don’t be one of them. There’s now a solution to stress that literally rewires your brain for a life of doing well, and being well, on your way to flourishing.

The most important brain discovery in the last 400 years concerns a simple but powerful shift in attitude that can change a brain wired for stress into a brain powered for...

Best Science Podcasts 2017

We have hand picked the best science podcasts for 2017. Sit back and enjoy new science podcasts updated daily from your favorite science news services and scientists.
Now Playing: TED Radio Hour

Going Undercover
Are deception and secrecy categorically wrong? Or can they be a necessary means to an end? This hour, TED speakers share stories of going undercover to explore unknown territory, and find the truth. Guests include poet and activist Theo E.J. Wilson, journalist Jamie Bartlett, counter-terrorism expert Mubin Shaikh, and educator Shabana Basij-Rasikh.
Now Playing: Science for the People

#452 Face Recognition and Identity
This week we deep dive into the science of how we recognize faces and why some of us are better -- or worse -- at this than others. We talk with Brad Duchaine, Professor of Psychology at Dartmouth College, about both super recognizers and face blindness. And we speak with Matteo Martini, Psychology Lecturer at the University of East London, about a study looking at twins who have difficulty telling which one of them a photo was of. Charity Links: Union of Concerned Scientists Evidence For Democracy Sense About Science American Association for the Advancement of Science Association for Women...