Nav: Home

After the Strawberry | Kindle Edition

by Seedpod Publishing


Available:  This product is currently not available
FREE Shipping on Qualified Orders
» View Details


Sales Rank:  715326th



EDITORIAL REVIEWS


Product Description
Lydia Poole wants to be a good person—the kind of person who does everything right and deserves to be loved. To accomplish this, she eats only one cup of Cheerios per day and lets her weight drop below ninety pounds. When Lydia’s sister introduces Jesse, a new friend and filmmaker, Lydia agrees to be the subject of his documentary.Jesse’s camera follows Lydia as she’s hospitalized for anorexia, as she walks the line between hoping for death and wanting life, as her weight continues to fall. With the camera running, Lydia shifts from the viewfinder’s object to the eye behind the camera. In doing so, she discovers how she wants to see her world.After the Strawberry is a novel about a girl who disappears while trying to be seen.What Others Are Saying About After the Strawberry"Kathryn Pope's After the Strawberry has everything I want in a novel: elegant, precise prose, unique, unsettling images, and a compelling, disquieting story. It is a work of real menace and real beauty. Not only that, but she somehow manages to combine the traditional pleasures of storytelling with the adventure of hypertext in ways that are lucid and visually startling. All this is testament to the endless range of her wild imagination and genuine talent. I can't recommend this book highly enough."-Alistair McCartney, author of The End of the World Book: A Novel (University of Wisconsin Press)

SIMILAR PRODUCTS


More Than You Can Chew

More Than You Can Chew
by Tundra Books

Winner of the Society of School Librarians International’s Best Book Award – Language Arts, Grades 7-12 Novels

Winner of the 2005 White Pine Awards, Fiction category

Selected for inclusion in the Best Books for the Teen Age 2004 List by the New York Public Library

Nominated for Snow Willow Award (The Saskatchewan Young Reader’s Choice Awards)


Nominated for the Canadian Library Association’s 2004 Young Adult Canadian Book Award
Letting Ana Go

Letting Ana Go
by Simon Pulse

In the tradition of Go Ask Alice and Lucy in the Sky, a harrowing account of anorexia and addiction.

She was a good girl from a good family, with everything she could want or need. But below the surface, she felt like she could never be good enough. Like she could never live up to the expectations that surrounded her. Like she couldn’t do anything to make a change.

But there was one thing she could control completely: how much she ate. The less she ate, the...
Safety in Numbers: From 56 to 221 Pounds, My Battle with Eating Disorders -- A Memoir

Safety in Numbers: From 56 to 221 Pounds, My Battle with Eating Disorders -- A Memoir
by Wheatmark, Inc.

Imagine struggling with anorexia for seven years and finding yourself in the hospital weighing 56 pounds at 20 years old. Your parents are planning your funeral, and you are given little chance to live. 
Fast-forward one year. You are now 221 pounds and obese. 
Safety in Numbers: From 56 to 221 Pounds, My Battle with Eating Disorders is Brittany Burgunder's raw and captivating memoir of her 10-year battle with three forms of severe eating disorders -- anorexia, binge eating,...
thinandbeautiful.com

thinandbeautiful.com
by Second Story Press

Seventeen-year-old Maddie has always felt a hole in her life, but she has finally found a way to fill it with her quest to mold her body into her ideal, thinnest shape. When she comes across the world of “thinspiration” websites, where young people encourage each other in their mission to lose weight, she quickly becomes addicted. Finally, she has found a place where she is understood and where she can belong. Maddie becomes a part of a group of friends who call themselves the GWS, “Girls...
Elena Vanishing: A Memoir

Elena Vanishing: A Memoir
by Chronicle Books LLC

Seventeen-year-old Elena is vanishing. Every day means renewed determination, so every day means fewer calories. This is the story of a girl whose armor against anxiety becomes artillery against herself as she battles on both sides of a lose-lose war in a struggle with anorexia. Told entirely from Elena's perspective over a five-year period and cowritten with her mother, award-winning author Clare B. Dunkle, Elena's memoir is a fascinating and intimate look at a deadly disease, and a must read...
Never Enough

Never Enough
by Simon Pulse

From the author of Losing Faith, a novel about two sisters and the eating disorder that threatens to destroy their family.

Loann’s always wanted to be popular and pretty like her sister, Claire. So when Claire’s ex-boyfriend starts flirting with her, Loann is willing to do whatever it takes to feel special…even if that means betraying her sister.
     But as Loann slips inside Claire’s world, she discovers that everything is not as it seems. Claire’s...
The Best Little Girl in the World

The Best Little Girl in the World

Everyone agreed that Francesca was a model daughter. Quiet, obedient, a good student, she never caused her parents a moment's worry. And then one day her mother noticed that Francesca seemed to be losing weight -- a lot of weight. Francesca was ordered to stop dieting immediately, but still she wouldn't eat. And then the nightmare began, because Francesca was starving herself to death.

In this riveting story of a young girl's self-destructive obsession, author Steven Levenkron draws...
Paperweight

Paperweight
by HarperTeen

This emotionally haunting and beautifully written young adult debut delves into the devastating impact of trauma and loss, in the vein of Laurie Halse Anderson’s Wintergirls.

Seventeen-year-old Stevie is trapped. In her life. In her body. And now in an eating-disorder treatment center on the dusty outskirts of the New Mexico desert.

Life in the center is regimented and intrusive, a nightmare come true. Nurses and therapists watch Stevie at meal time,...

Beautiful Me

Beautiful Me
by Balboa Press

Talia is seventeen, weighs thirty-one kilos, and has been committed to a psychiatric unit. Ever wondered what was inside the mind of an anorexic? This is her journal, Beautiful Me.


Massive

Massive
by Macmillan Children's Books

Weight has always been a big issue in Carmen's life. Not surprising when her mum is obsessed with the idea that thin equals beauty, thin equals success, thin equals the way to get what you want. And somehow her daughter is going to be thin.

When her mother sweeps her off to live in the city, Carmen finds her old world disappearing. With everything to gain and absolutely nothing to lose. Carmen starts to ask: if she was thin, very thin, could it all be different?

A new cover...

Best Science Podcasts 2017

We have hand picked the best science podcasts for 2017. Sit back and enjoy new science podcasts updated daily from your favorite science news services and scientists.
Now Playing: TED Radio Hour

Simple Solutions
Sometimes, the best solutions to complex problems are simple. But simple doesn't always mean easy. This hour, TED speakers describe the innovation and hard work that goes into achieving simplicity. Guests include designer Mileha Soneji, chef Sam Kass, sleep researcher Wendy Troxel, public health advocate Myriam Sidibe, and engineer Amos Winter.
Now Playing: Science for the People

#448 Pavlov (Rebroadcast)
This week, we're learning about the life and work of a groundbreaking physiologist whose work on learning and instinct is familiar worldwide, and almost universally misunderstood. We'll spend the hour with Daniel Todes, Ph.D, Professor of History of Medicine at The Johns Hopkins University, discussing his book "Ivan Pavlov: A Russian Life in Science."