Science Current Events | Science News | Brightsurf.com
corner top left block corner top right

After the Strawberry | Kindle Edition

by Seedpod Publishing


Available:  This product is currently not available


Sales Rank:  739399th



EDITORIAL REVIEWS


Product Description
Lydia Poole wants to be a good person—the kind of person who does everything right and deserves to be loved. To accomplish this, she eats only one cup of Cheerios per day and lets her weight drop below ninety pounds. When Lydia’s sister introduces Jesse, a new friend and filmmaker, Lydia agrees to be the subject of his documentary.Jesse’s camera follows Lydia as she’s hospitalized for anorexia, as she walks the line between hoping for death and wanting life, as her weight continues to fall. With the camera running, Lydia shifts from the viewfinder’s object to the eye behind the camera. In doing so, she discovers how she wants to see her world.After the Strawberry is a novel about a girl who disappears while trying to be seen.What Others Are Saying About After the Strawberry"Kathryn Pope's After the Strawberry has everything I want in a novel: elegant, precise prose, unique, unsettling images, and a compelling, disquieting story. It is a work of real menace and real beauty. Not only that, but she somehow manages to combine the traditional pleasures of storytelling with the adventure of hypertext in ways that are lucid and visually startling. All this is testament to the endless range of her wild imagination and genuine talent. I can't recommend this book highly enough."-Alistair McCartney, author of The End of the World Book: A Novel (University of Wisconsin Press)

SIMILAR PRODUCTS


Letting Ana Go

Letting Ana Go
by Simon Pulse

In the tradition of Go Ask Alice and Lucy in the Sky, a harrowing account of anorexia and addiction.

She was a good girl from a good family, with everything she could want or need. But below the surface, she felt like she could never be good enough. Like she could never live up to the expectations that surrounded her. Like she couldn’t do anything to make a change.

But there was one thing she could control completely: how much she ate. The less she ate, the...

More Than You Can Chew

More Than You Can Chew
by Tundra Books

Winner of the Society of School Librarians International’s Best Book Award – Language Arts, Grades 7-12 Novels

Winner of the 2005 White Pine Awards, Fiction category

Selected for inclusion in the Best Books for the Teen Age 2004 List by the New York Public Library

Nominated for Snow Willow Award (The Saskatchewan Young Reader’s Choice Awards)

Nominated for the Canadian Library Association’s 2004 Young Adult Canadian Book Award


thinandbeautiful.com

thinandbeautiful.com
by Second Story Press

Seventeen-year-old Maddie has always felt a hole in her life, but she has finally found a way to fill it with her quest to mold her body into her ideal, thinnest shape. When she comes across the world of “thinspiration” websites, where young people encourage each other in their mission to lose weight, she quickly becomes addicted. Finally, she has found a place where she is understood and where she can belong. Maddie becomes a part of a group of friends who call themselves the GWS, “Girls...

Running in Silence: My Drive for Perfection and the Eating Disorder that Fed it

Running in Silence: My Drive for Perfection and the Eating Disorder that Fed it
by Koehler Books

“It had been hours since I ran at track practice that winter, but I hadn’t bothered to shower, let alone change clothes. No, I didn’t have time for that, because I had found the answer to my prayers.

This has to be it.

Eat all the fruit you want.

Never get fat.

Raw. Food. Diet.”

Rachael Steil clocked in as an All-American collegiate runner; she became a girl clawing for a comeback on a 30-bananas-a-day diet. This year-long struggle...

The Best Little Girl in the World

The Best Little Girl in the World

Everyone agreed that Francesca was a model daughter. Quiet, obedient, a good student, she never caused her parents a moment's worry. And then one day her mother noticed that Francesca seemed to be losing weight -- a lot of weight. Francesca was ordered to stop dieting immediately, but still she wouldn't eat. And then the nightmare began, because Francesca was starving herself to death.

In this riveting story of a young girl's self-destructive obsession, author Steven Levenkron draws...

Beautiful Me

Beautiful Me
by Balboa Press

Talia is seventeen, weighs thirty-one kilos, and has been committed to a psychiatric unit. Ever wondered what was inside the mind of an anorexic? This is her journal, Beautiful Me.


Elena Vanishing: A Memoir

Elena Vanishing: A Memoir
by Chronicle Books LLC

Seventeen-year-old Elena is vanishing. Every day means renewed determination, so every day means fewer calories. This is the story of a girl whose armor against anxiety becomes artillery against herself as she battles on both sides of a lose-lose war in a struggle with anorexia. Told entirely from Elena's perspective over a five-year period and cowritten with her mother, award-winning author Clare B. Dunkle, Elena's memoir is a fascinating and intimate look at a deadly disease, and a must read...

Paperweight

Paperweight
by HarperTeen

This emotionally haunting and beautifully written young adult debut delves into the devastating impact of trauma and loss, in the vein of Laurie Halse Anderson’s Wintergirls.Seventeen-year-old Stevie is trapped. In her life. In her body. And now in an eating-disorder treatment center on the dusty outskirts of the New Mexico desert.Life in the center is regimented and intrusive, a nightmare come true. Nurses and therapists watch Stevie at meal time, accompany her to the bathroom, and challenge...

Hungry for Life: A Memoir Unlocking the Truth Inside an Anorexic Mind

Hungry for Life: A Memoir Unlocking the Truth Inside an Anorexic Mind

In this painfully moving memoir, take a firsthand look at anorexia through the eyes of a young girl. Even in kindergarten, Rachel Richards knows something isn't right. By leading us through her distorted thoughts, she shines a light on the experience and mystery of mental illness.

As she grows up, unable to comprehend or communicate her inner trauma, Rachel lashes out, hurting herself, running away from home, and fighting her family. Restricting food gives her the control she craves....

The Stone Girl

The Stone Girl
by Knopf Books for Young Readers

She feels like a creature out of a fairy tale; a girl who discovers that her bones are really made out of stone, that her skin is really as thin as glass, that her hair is brittle as straw, that her tears have dried up so that she cries only salt. Maybe that's why it doesn't hurt when she presses hard enough to begin bleeding: it doesn't hurt, because she's not real anymore.

Sethie Weiss is hungry, a mean, angry kind of hunger that feels like a piece of glass in her belly. She’s...



Brightsurf.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program
designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com
corner bottom left block corner bottom right
© 2017 BrightSurf.com