Nav: Home

Tropical Cyclone Joyce makes landfall on Australia's Pilbara Coast

January 12, 2018

NOAA's JPSS-1 satellite provided a visible image of the tropical storm after it made landfall along the Pilbara Coast in the northwestern part of Western Australia.

On Jan. 12, the Australian Bureau of Meteorology (ABM) posted warnings from Sandfire to De Grey, and inland parts of the northeast Pilbara including Marble Bar. A Blue Alert is in effect for people in areas south of Wallal Downs to De Grey and inland to Marble Bar. That means that residents in those areas need to prepare for cyclonic weather and organize an emergency kit including first aid kit, torch, portable radio, spare batteries, food and water.

On Jan. 12 at 12:36 a.m. EST (0536 UTC) NOAA's JPSS-1 or NOAA-20 satellite showed Joyce's compact center along the coast and bands of thunderstorms wrapping into the center were mostly east and south of the center over Western Australia.

At 10 a.m. EST (1500 UTC) on Jan. 12 the Joint Typhoon Warning Center issued their final warning on Tropical Cyclone Joyce. At that time Joyce had maximum sustained winds near 45 knots (51.7 mph/83.3 kph). It was centered near 20.7 degrees south latitude and 119.4 degrees east longitude. That's about 68 nautical miles east of Port Hedland, Australia. It was moving to the southwest at 8 knots (9.2 mph/14.8 kph).

Port Hedland radar imagery showed moderate to heavy precipitation bands with a central vortex just east of the station.

ABM said Joyce should weaken as it tracks to the southwest through the Pilbara. Joyce is expected to dissipate after a day or so.

ABM noted "Gusty winds and heavy rainfall is likely to continue near the track of the system over the weekend. Widespread daily rainfall totals of around 50 to 100 mm are expected, with isolated heavier falls of 100-250 mm possible near the system center."

NOAA-20, designated JPSS-1 prior to launch, is the first of NOAA's latest generation of U.S. polar-orbiting, non-geosynchronous, environmental satellites called the Joint Polar Satellite System. NOAA-20 was launched on November 18, 2017 and joined the Suomi National Polar-orbiting Partnership satellite in the same orbit.
-end-
For updated AMB Severe Weather Warning and Flood Watches and Warnings refer to http://www.bom.gov.au/wa/warnings/

For more information about NOAA-20 (formerly JPSS-1), visit: http://www.jpss.noaa.gov/

NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center

Related Tropical Storm Articles:

NASA looks at rainfall from Tropical Storm Dora
Now a tropical storm, Hurricane Dora has been skirting southwestern Mexico's coast since it formed and has transported tropical moisture onshore that has produced some heavy rain showers.
NASA examines potential tropical or sub-tropical storm affecting Gulf states
NASA's Global Precipitation Measurement mission or GPM core satellite passed over a developing low pressure area in the Gulf of Mexico and gathered two days of rainfall and storm height information.
NASA spots sub-tropical storm 11S still swirling
Once a tropical storm, now a sub-tropical storm, the remnants of the tropical low pressure area formerly known as 11S was spotted by NASA's Aqua satellite, still spinning in the Southern Indian Ocean.
Tropical Storm Meari forecast to intensify
Tropical Storm Meari is currently located 331 miles north of Ulithi which is an atoll in the Caroline Islands of the western Pacific Ocean.
NASA sees Tropical Storm Nicole going 'extra-tropical'
Tropical Storm Nicole was becoming extra-tropical when the NASA-NOAA Suomi NPP satellite passed over it from space and captured a visible picture of the storm.
NASA sees a much weaker Tropical Storm Lester
NASA's Aqua satellite provided an infrared view of Tropical Storm Lester that showed a lack of thunderstorm development around its center of circulation.
NASA's GPM examines Tropical Storm Lester
The Global Precipitation Measurement mission or GPM core satellite analyzed Tropical Storm Lester after it became the 12th named storm of the 2016 eastern Pacific Ocean on Aug.
NASA sees Tropical Storm Lionrock sonsolidating
NASA's Terra satellite captured a visible image of Tropical Storm Lionrock that revealed the storm is consolidating and strengthening.
NASA measures winds of Tropical Storm Omais
NASA's RapidScat instrument provided measurements of sustained wind speeds as Tropical Storm Omais was moving past Japan.
NASA sees tropical storm Howard weakening
Infrared data from NASA's Terra satellite has revealed that Tropical Storm Howard is weakening quickly as it continues to move over cooler waters in the Eastern Pacific Ocean.

Related Tropical Storm Reading:

Tropical Storm
by Melissa Good (Author), Barbara Maclay (Illustrator), Mardi Cook (Illustrator)

Book by Good, Melissa View Details


Tropical Storm
by Melissa Good (Author)

From bestselling author Melissa Good comes a tale of heartache, longing, family strife, lust for love, and redemption. Tropical Storm took the lesbian reading world by storm when it was first written . . . Don't miss this exciting revised "author's cut" edition. Dar Roberts, corporate raider for a multi-national tech company, is cold, practical, and merciless. She does her job with razor-sharp accuracy. Friends are a luxury she cannot allow herself, and love is something she knows she'll never attain. Kerry Stuart left Michigan for Florida in an attempt to get away from her domineering... View Details


Florida Hurricanes and Tropical Storms: 1871-2001, Expanded Edition
by John M. Williams (Author), Iver W. Duedall (Author)

From reviews of the first edition:

"A comprehensive, factual, concise book on Florida hurricanes. . . . Land and space photographs and storm trajectory maps are especially informative. Williams and Duedall are experts on Florida meteorology, and they have written a superb book."--Choice

"Besides acting as a comprehensive historical and meteorological reference guide, this book is a necessity for every Floridian to have on hand during hurricane season. It not only contains lists of additional hurricane references and Internet addresses, as well as hurricane preparedness... View Details


Tropical Storm
by Linda Kay Silva (Author)

Megan has disappeared into the Costa Rican rain forest, and it's up to Delta and Connie to find her with few clues to go on View Details


Tropical Storms as a Setting for Adaptive Development and Architecture: iNTA 2017 ( 6th International Network of Tropical Architecture Conference 2017)
by Nawari O Nawari (Author), Nancy Clark (Author)

Proceedings of the 6th International Network of Tropical Architecture Conference 2017 (iNTA 2017): Tropical Storms as a Setting for Adaptive Development and Architecture. iNTA 2017. December 1st -3rd, 2017. Conference topics include: - Impact of storm hazards and sea level rise on human settlement in major cities - Coastal flooding, engineering, processes, and construction - Urban adaptation response: design, planning, policy, governance, codes - Urban infrastructures at risk: water management, energy, mobility - History of tropical settlements and housing - Tropical architecture as a global... View Details


Tropical Storm Agnes in Greater Harrisburg (Images of America)
by Erik V. Fasick (Author)

Tropical Storm Agnes, along with the unprecedented flooding which resulted from it, is arguably the most significant event to have transpired in the Harrisburg area in the last 150 years. Over the course of June 21 and June 22, 1972, Agnes drenched the region with more than a foot of rain. As a result, the Susquehanna River rose to record-breaking levels and backed into the already overwhelmed feeding creeks and streams. In Harrisburg, armed National Guardsmen patrolled the vacant streets and set up checkpoints to enforce a curfew and deter looting. Surrounded by floodwaters, row homes near... View Details


Tropical Warning: An Original Serge Storms Story and Other Debris (Serge Storms series Book 17)
by William Morrow

A quirky new collection by New York Times bestselling author Tim Dorsey. In the tradition of Pineapple Grenade and The Riptide Ultra-Glide, a peculiar new volume of odds and ends from the world of everyone's favorite Florida psychopath—Serge Storms!

Among the flotsam and jetsam of Dorsey's twisted universe:

A never-before-published Serge Storms short story that places the iconic antihero in one of Florida's oldest (and most remote) little towns.

A classic travel feature in London's The Guardian detailing how you can explore Florida's... View Details


Tropical Storm Allison: Heavy rains and floods, Texas and Louisiana, June 2001
by Unknown (Author)

View Details


Tropical Storm
by 2S Publishing

TROPICAL STORM: CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE by Stefanie Graham

Can a man tangle with a tempest without getting swept away?

Millionaire hotelier Cairo Kane has dealt with his fair share of tropical storms on the Caribbean island of Jamaica. Not one to hide from tumultuous weather, he would rather attack it, head on. Six years ago he left his life in New York City and escaped to the beautiful island of Jamaica to apply himself to the business of making money. The former blue-collar boy was driven, fierce, and determined; there wasn't a challenge he didn't take or a tempest he... View Details

Best Science Podcasts 2018

We have hand picked the best science podcasts for 2018. Sit back and enjoy new science podcasts updated daily from your favorite science news services and scientists.
Now Playing: TED Radio Hour

The Person You Become
Over the course of our lives, we shed parts of our old selves, embrace new ones, and redefine who we are. This hour, TED speakers explore ideas about the experiences that shape the person we become. Guests include aerobatics pilot and public speaker Janine Shepherd, writers Roxane Gay and Taiye Selasi, activist Jackson Bird, and fashion executive Kaustav Dey.
Now Playing: Science for the People

#479 Garden of Marvels (Rebroadcast)
This week we're learning about botany and the colorful science of gardening. Author Ruth Kassinger joins us to discuss her book "A Garden of Marvels: How We Discovered that Flowers Have Sex, Leaves Eat Air, and Other Secrets of the Way Plants Work." And we'll speak to NASA researcher Gioia Massa about her work to solve the technical challenges of gardening in space.