Bioenergy - I: From concept to commercial processes

January 16, 2006

The Engineering Conferences International announces the first conference in its series on Bioenergy - I: From Concept to Commercial Processes.

The conference addresses the state-of-the-art challenges toward the production of bioenergy and the research being conducted to solve the technical, scientific and economical barriers to wide-spread adoption. It will evaluate the current progress that has been made in bioenergy research and development, and identify new promising future directions of bioenergy. In addition, it will assess ways to overcome the current constraints and to focus on economical aspects for commercial production. Environmentally sound biobased energy production (ethanol, butanol, methane, methanol, biodiesel, biohydrogen, biopower, etc.) can make important contributions to the world energy security. It will also promote rural economic development and enhance environmental quality through the development of additional renewable energy resources from agriculture and agroforestry sectors, generated wastes (farm, industry and municipals) and from new emerging biorefineries. A comprehensive view of the impact of the recent advancement and development on the production of bioenergy via biological and thermal conversions will be highlighted.

The technical program is selected to reflect the following themes:Attendees will represent both fundamental and applied science of the following areas: bio/chemical, bioprocess and mechanical engineering, biology, bio/chemistry, food, agriculture and environmental science and engineering. This interdisciplinary conference will be international in scope and highly participative.

Conference Organization

The Conference Chairs are
Dr. Muthanna Al-Dahhan, Associate Professor and Co-Director, Chemical Reaction Engineering Laboratory (CREL), Washington University, Department of Chemical Engineering, Phone: 1-314-935-7187, E-mail: Muthanna@wustl.edu
Dr. Kevin Hicks, USDA, Wyndmoor, PA, 19038, Phone: 1-215-233-6579, E-mail: khicks@errc.ars.usda.gov
Dr. Charles A. Abbas, Director, Yeast & Renewables Research, Archer Daniels Midland Company, 1001, N. Brush College Road, Decatur, IL, 62521-1656, Phone: 1-217-451-4220, E-mail: abbas@admworld.com.

The Organizing Committee comprises:
David Johnston, USDA-ERRC (djohnston@arserrc.gov),
G. Lettinga, Wageningen University (gatze.lettinga@algemeen.mt.wau.nl),
Khursheed Karim, University of Arkansas (kkarim@uark.edu),
Michael Seibert, NREL-DOE (mike_seibert@nrel.gov),
Bruce Logan, Penn. State University (blogan@psu.edu),
P.C. Hallenbeck, University of Montreal (Patrick.hallenbeck@umontreal.ca),
H. Shapouri, USDA-OCE-OEPNU (hshapouri@oce.usda.gov),
M. Jawed, IIT Guwahati (jawed@iitg.ernet.in),
Michael Safty, Bioethane, (msafty@bioethane.com),
Eugenio Foresti, Universidade de Sao Paulo (eforesti@sc.usp.br),
Irini Angelidaki, Technical University of Denmark (ria@er.dtu.dk),
Maria Isabel Pais, Pontificia Universidade Catolica (isapais@rdc.puc-rio.br),
Ana B. Henriques, Washington University (abh1@wustl.edu),
K. Stork, DOE (Kevin.stork@ee.doe.gov),
S. Goguen, DOE (stephen.goguen@ee.doe.gov),
M. Stamatoudis, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (stamatou@vergina.eng.auth.gr),
R. Devantier, Novozymes, Denmark (rdev@novozymes.com),
L. Olsson, Technical University of Denmark (lo@biocentrum.dtu.dk),
B. Ozbek, Yildiz Technical University, Turkey (bozbek@yildiz.edu.tr),
E. Allain, Novozymes North America (eria@novozymes.com),
J. Sheehan, NREL-DOE (john_sheehan@nrel.gov),
G. Zacchi, Lund University, Sweden (guido.zacchi@chemeng.ith.se),
S. Hamoudi, University of Laval, Canada (Safia.Hamoudi@sga.ulaval.ca),
M. Clark Dale, Bioprocess Innovation (bpidalge@concentric.net),
M. Knauf, Ethanol Technology (mknauf@ethanoltech.com),
Zhongpin Shi, Southern Yangtze University, China (zpshi@sytu.edu.cn),
G.A. Hill, University of Saskatchewan, Canada (hill@engr.usask.ca),
M.I. Rajoka, NIBGE, Pakistan (mirajoka@nibgo.org),
Bill Wisbrock, Biofuels of Missouri (wisborck@aol.com),
J.R. Benemann (jbenemann@aol.com).

Oral and Poster Presentations
The oral presentations will consist of both plenary lectures (40 min) and invited presentations (30 min). The majority of presentations will be given in interactive poster sessions. Poster authors see Guidelines for Preparing Posters. There will also be time for round table discussions and other technical activities that will enhance and enrich the technical program.
-end-


Engineering Conferences International

Related Methane Articles from Brightsurf:

When methane-eating microbes eat ammonia instead
As a side effect of their metabolism, microorganisms living on methane can also convert ammonia.

Making more of methane
Looking closely at the chemical process that transforms methane into useful products could help unveil more efficient ways to use natural gas.

Methane: emissions increase and it's not a good news
It is the second greenhouse gas with even a global warming potential larger than CO2.

Measuring methane from space
A group of researchers from Alaska and Germany is reporting for the first time on remote sensing methods that can observe thousands of lakes and thus allow more precise estimates of methane emissions.

New 3D view of methane tracks sources
NASA's new 3-dimensional portrait of methane concentrations shows the world's second largest contributor to greenhouse warming.

Show me the methane
Though not as prevalent in the atmosphere as carbon dioxide, methane is a far more potent greenhouse gas.

Containing methane and its contribution to global warming
Methane is a gas that deserves more attention in the climate debate as it contributes to almost half of human-made global warming in the short-term.

Microorganisms reduce methane release from the ocean
Bacteria in the Pacific Ocean remove large amounts of the greenhouse gas methane.

Origin of massive methane reservoir identified
New research provides evidence of the formation and abundance of abiotic methane -- methane formed by chemical reactions that don't involve organic matter -- on Earth and shows how the gases could have a similar origin on other planets and moons, even those no longer home to liquid water.

Unexpected culprit -- wetlands as source of methane
Knowing how emissions are created can help reduce them.

Read More: Methane News and Methane Current Events
Brightsurf.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.