Abel Prize 2010 goes to Springer author John Tate

March 26, 2010

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters has awarded the Abel Prize for 2010 to Springer author John Tate of the University of Texas at Austin. The mathematician has been honored "for his vast and lasting impact on the theory of numbers." The prize amount is approximately EUR 730,000 and will be presented to Tate by His Majesty King Harald at an award ceremony in Oslo, Norway, on 25 May 2010.

John Tate is a prime architect of the development of the theory of numbers. His scientific accomplishments span six decades. A wealth of essential mathematical ideas and constructions were initiated by Tate and later named after him, such as the Tate module, Tate curve, and Tate cycle to mention just a few.

At Springer John Tate is the author of the video The Millennium Prize Problems, the book Les Conjectures de Stark sur les Fonctions L d'Artin en s=0, and co-author of Rational Points on Elliptic Curves, which was also translated into a successful Japanese version. He has written many book chapters in volumes in the Springer series Lecture Notes in Mathematics and has contributed numerous articles to journals in Springer's mathematics portfolio such as Inventiones Mathematicae.

John Tate was born in 1925 in Minneapolis, USA. He received his Bachelor of Arts from Harvard College in 1946 and his Ph.D. from Princeton University in 1950. Starting in 1954, Tate was a professor at Harvard University and taught there for thirty-six years. In 1990 he accepted his last academic position as professor and Sid W. Richardson Chair in Mathematics at the University of Texas at Austin.

All previous Abel Prize laureates are Springer editors or authors. Springer has recently published the book The Abel Prize 2003-2007: The First Five Years that contains presentations of the first five years' winners, J.-P. Serre (2003), Sir M. Atiyah and I. Singer (2004), P. Lax (2005), L. Carleson (2006) and S.R.S. Varadhan (2007). Each laureate provides an autobiography or an interview, a CV, and a complete bibliography. This is complemented by a scholarly description of their work written by leading experts in the field, and a brief history of the Abel Prize. Interviews with the laureates are also included on a DVD. Editors are Helge Holden and Ragni Piene.

The Abel Prize, awarded annually by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, was founded in 2003. It recognizes contributions of extraordinary depth and influence to the mathematical sciences. The award is in memory of the Norwegian mathematician Niels Henrik Abel, who died at the young age of 27. Springer has published a biography of this great mathematical genius in English, German, French and Japanese versions.


Related Mathematics Articles from Brightsurf:

A new method for boosting the learning of mathematics
How can mathematics learning in primary school be facilitated? UNIGE has developed an intervention to promote the learning of math in school.

Could mathematics help to better treat cancer?
Impaired information processing may prevent cells from perceiving their environment correctly; they then start acting in an uncontrolled way and this can lead to the development of cancer.

People can see beauty in complex mathematics, study shows
Ordinary people see beauty in complex mathematical arguments in the same way they can appreciate a beautiful landscape painting or a piano sonata.

Improving geothermal HVAC systems with mathematics
Sustainable heating, ventilation, and air conditioning systems, such as those that harness low-enthalpy geothermal energy, are needed to reduce collective energy use and mitigate the continued effects of a warming climate.

How the power of mathematics can help assess lung function
Researchers at the University of Southampton have developed a new computational way of analyzing X-ray images of lungs, which could herald a breakthrough in the diagnosis and assessment of chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) and other lung diseases.

Mathematics pushes innovation in 4-D printing
New mathematical results will provide a potential breakthrough in the design and the fabrication of the next generation of morphable materials.

More democracy through mathematics
For democratic elections to be fair, voting districts must have similar sizes.

How to color a lizard: From biology to mathematics
Skin color patterns in animals arise from microscopic interactions among colored cells that obey equations discovered by Alan Turing.

US educators awarded for exemplary teaching in mathematics
Janet Heine Barnett, Caren Diefenderfer, and Tevian Dray were named the 2017 Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Award winners by the Mathematical Association of America (MAA) for their teaching effectiveness and influence beyond their institutions.

Authors of year's best books in mathematics honored
Prizes for the year's best books in mathematics were awarded to Ian Stewart and Tim Chartier by the Mathematical Association of America (MAA) on Jan.

Read More: Mathematics News and Mathematics Current Events
Brightsurf.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.