Nav: Home

Seeing quadruple: Four images of the same supernova, a rare find

April 20, 2017

Galaxies bend light through an effect called gravitational lensing that helps astronomers peer deeper into the cosmos. Now, researchers have detected an extreme case of this phenomenon where a fortuitously aligned galaxy has magnified a Type Ia supernova by roughly 50 times. The researchers report acquiring four images of this supernova event; to date, acquiring multiply imaged lensed supernova has been extremely difficult, in particular for Type 1a supernovae, which are important to study as indicators of distance in cosmology. One of the foundations of Einstein's theory of general relativity is that matter curves the surrounding space-time. This curve can create a "lens," deflecting the path of passing light and magnifying any objects on the other side. Yet, for astronomers to benefit from this phenomenon, a sufficiently massive foreground object must align precisely with the background target they wish to study. If the target is fleeting, as with a supernova, it must be spotted and studied quickly. In September 2016, using the intermediate Palomar Transient Factory in California, Ariel Goobar and colleagues detected a new Type Ia supernova that appeared to have the correct alignment with a foreground galaxy. Moving quickly, they were able to utilize several other telescopes to make detailed measurements of the supernova, called iPTF16geu. High-resolution data showed that the light from the supernova had been split into four images by the lens, which also magnified it by a factor of about 50. Because Type Ia supernova explode in a very predictable and consistent manner, comparing the four separate images could help scientists to determine the expansion rate of the Universe or other cosmological parameters.
-end-


American Association for the Advancement of Science

Related Supernova Articles:

The big star that couldn't become a supernova
For the first time in history, astronomers have been able to watch as a dying star was reborn as a black hole.
Seeing quadruple: Four images of the same supernova, a rare find
Galaxies bend light through an effect called gravitational lensing that helps astronomers peer deeper into the cosmos.
Explosive material: The making of a supernova
Pre-supernova stars may show signs of instability for months before the big explosion
Search for stellar survivor of a supernova explosion
Astronomers have used the NASA/ESA Hubble Space Telescope to observe the remnant of a supernova explosion in the Large Magellanic Cloud.
Wispy remains of supernova explosion hide possible 'survivor'
This image, taken with NASA's Hubble Space Telescope, shows the supernova remnant SNR 0509-68.7, also known as N103B.
The dawn of a new era for Supernova 1987a
Three decades ago, astronomers spotted one of the brightest exploding stars in more than 400 years.
The supernova that wasn't: A tale of 3 cosmic eruptions
Long-term observations with the Hubble Space Telescope revealed that Eta Carinae, a very massive star system that has puzzled astronomers since it erupted in a supernova-like event in the mid 19th century, has a past that's much more violent than they thought.
Blue is an indicator of first star's supernova explosions
An international collaboration led by the Kavli Institute for the Physics and Mathematics of the Universe have discovered that the color of supernovae during a specific phase could be an indicator for detecting the most distant and oldest supernovae in the Universe -- more than 13 billion years old.
Nearby supernova ashes continue to rain on Earth
Traces of 60Fe detected in space indicate that a nearby supernova occurred within the last few million years.
Supernova iron found on the moon
Approximately two million years ago a star exploded in a supernova close to our solar system: Its traces can still be found today in the form of an iron isotope found on the ocean floor.

Related Supernova Reading:

The Supernova Advisor: Crossing the Invisible Bridge to Exceptional Client Service and Consistent Growth
by Rob Knapp (Author)

The Supernova Model is a client service, client acquisition, and practice management model that drives an explosive acceleration in revenue and client satisfaction by capitalizing upon the 80/20 Rule. First implemented by financial advisors at Merrill Lynch—under the leadership of author Rob Knapp—it has grown increasingly popular within the financial services industry. The Supernova Advisor skillfully outlines this proven model and reveals how it can be used to create an exceptional experience for your clients, while significantly growing your business. View Details


Supernova (The Lightless Trilogy)
by C.A. Higgins (Author)

C. A. Higgins’s acclaimed novel Lightless fused suspenseful storytelling, high-caliber scientific speculation, and richly developed characters into a stunning science fiction epic. Now the dazzling Supernova heightens the thrills and deepens the haunting exploration of technology and humanity—and the consequences that await when the two intersect.

Once Ananke was an experimental military spacecraft. But a rogue computer virus transformed it—her—into something much more: a fully sentient artificial intelligence, with all the power of a god—and all the... View Details


Supernova: Book III of the Alessandra Legacy Trilogy (Volume 3)
by K. W. Keith (Author)

While the Christmas season showers Rome with snow and splendor, mob boss Raine Mathison simmers with anger over spending the holidays without his new wife. Distanced from Solana Trent by more than mere miles, he wants answers behind his beloved journalist’s icy chill, and after receiving cryptic clues from an unlikely source, he makes a bold overture. Haunted by Raine’s apparent infidelity, Solana struggles to understand the man who seems determined to be her husband in more than name only, but despite her desperate want for him, protecting her darkest secret is of the utmost importance.... View Details


Supernova Explosions (Astronomy and Astrophysics Library)
by David Branch (Author), J. Craig Wheeler (Author)

Targeting advanced students of astronomy and physics, as well as astronomers and physicists contemplating research on supernovae or related fields, David Branch and J. Craig Wheeler offer a modern account of the nature, causes and consequences of supernovae, as well as of issues that remain to be resolved.

Owing especially to (1) the appearance of supernova 1987A in the nearby Large Magellanic Cloud, (2) the spectacularly successful use of supernovae as distance indicators for cosmology, (3) the association of some supernovae with the enigmatic cosmic gamma-ray bursts, and (4) the... View Details


Champagne Supernovas: Kate Moss, Marc Jacobs, Alexander McQueen, and the '90s Renegades Who Remade Fashion
by Maureen Callahan (Author)

A glittering history of fashion in the 1990s, told through the lives of Kate Moss, Marc Jacobs, and Alexander McQueen—the three iconic personalities who defined the time.

The 1950s had rock ‘n’ roll and the 60s had the Beats. In the 70s and 80s, it was punk rock and modern art. But for the 1990s, it was all about the fashion—and Kate Moss, Marc Jacobs, and Alexander McQueen were the trio of rebel geniuses who made it great.

Veteran style and pop culture journalist Maureen Callahan takes you back to the 90s, to the moment when supermodel glamazons gave way to heroin... View Details


Radical Amazement: Contemplative Lessons from Black Holes, Supernovas, and Other Wonders of the Universe
by Judy Cannato (Author)

Twentieth century science completely revolutionized human understanding of the world, rewriting the story of the universe with exciting discoveries and theories--the big bang, the relativity of space and time, the accelerating expansion of the universe, along with increasingly refined ideas of evolution and the origin of life. Radical Amazement unifies the worlds of science and religion, weaving profound spiritual lessons from our new knowledge. Through thoughtful and practical reflections, enhanced by prayers and meditations, Judy Cannato reveals the connectedness of all creation... View Details


Supernova: Com'è stato ucciso il MoVimento 5 Stelle (Italian Edition)
by Marco Canestrari

Questo libro è la storia di come nasce, cresce e viene ammazzata la pazza idea di Gianroberto Casaleggio di costruire il primo movimento politico che utilizzi Internet come strumento di propaganda e organizzazione.
È una storia raccontata da un osservatorio unico e privilegiato: abbiamo fatto parte, in momenti diversi e decisivi, della macchina organizzativa del MoVimento 5 stelle. L’abbiamo vista nascere, l’abbiamo fatta crescere, ce ne siamo allontanati. Ora raccontiamo come l’idea originale, a suo modo pura, di Gianroberto Casaleggio, sia stata tradita prima da lui stesso poi... View Details


Summer of Supernovas
by Darcy Woods (Author)

"Whether or not you believe in fate or reading the stars, if you believe in happiness and love to laugh, read Summer of Supernovas." —Jay Asher, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Thirteen Reasons Why
 
Fans of Jennifer E. Smith and Jenny Han will fall in love with this heartfelt and humor-laced debut following one zodiac-obsessed teen as she struggles to find the guy of her cosmic dreams.
 
As the daughter of an expert astrologer, Wilamena Carlisle knows that truth lies within the stars. So when she discovers a planetary alignment... View Details


Simpsons Comics Supernova
by Matt Groening (Author)

Not even the white-hot intensity of a thousand suns can hold a candle to Simpsons Comics Supernova, the new comic collection from Matt Groening, the creator of The Simpsons, Futurama, and the comic strip Life in Hell.

Illustrated in full color, Simpsons Comics Supernova features many of the regular characters from the longest-running sitcom in television history. Explore the intimate relationship of a man and his sofa, when Homer refuses to be parted from his beloved love seat for a whole year. Then something is Huey, Dewey, Louie, and... View Details


The Supernova Story
by Laurence Marschall (Author)

Astronomers believe that a supernova is a massive explosion signaling the death of a star, causing a cosmic recycling of the chemical elements and leaving behind a pulsar, black hole, or nothing at all. In an engaging story of the life cycles of stars, Laurence Marschall tells how early astronomers identified supernovae, and how later scientists came to their current understanding, piecing together observations and historical accounts to form a theory, which was tested by intensive study of SN 1987A, the brightest supernova since 1006. He has revised and updated The Supernova Story... View Details

Best Science Podcasts 2017

We have hand picked the best science podcasts for 2017. Sit back and enjoy new science podcasts updated daily from your favorite science news services and scientists.
Now Playing: TED Radio Hour

Simple Solutions
Sometimes, the best solutions to complex problems are simple. But simple doesn't always mean easy. This hour, TED speakers describe the innovation and hard work that goes into achieving simplicity. Guests include designer Mileha Soneji, chef Sam Kass, sleep researcher Wendy Troxel, public health advocate Myriam Sidibe, and engineer Amos Winter.
Now Playing: Science for the People

#448 Pavlov (Rebroadcast)
This week, we're learning about the life and work of a groundbreaking physiologist whose work on learning and instinct is familiar worldwide, and almost universally misunderstood. We'll spend the hour with Daniel Todes, Ph.D, Professor of History of Medicine at The Johns Hopkins University, discussing his book "Ivan Pavlov: A Russian Life in Science."