Nav: Home

AIAA to recognize outstanding achievements in aerolasticity and structural mechanics

April 27, 2009

April 27, 2009 - Reston, Va. - The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) has selected Professor Peretz Friedman of the University of Michigan to be honored for his work in aeroelasticity, and Professors Raphael Haftka of the University of Florida and C. T. Sun of Purdue University to be honored for their work in structural mechanics and in mentoring colleagues.

They will be honored at an awards luncheon on May 6 in conjunction with the 50th AIAA/American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)/American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)/American Helicopter Society (AHS)/American Society for Composites (ASC) Structures, Structural Dynamics, and Materials Conference, the 17th AIAA/ASME/AHS Adaptive Structures Conference, the 11th AIAA Non-Deterministic Approaches Conference, the 10th AIAA Gossamer Spacecraft Forum, and the 5th AIAA Multidisciplinary Design Optimization Specialists Conference, to be held May 4𔃅, at the Palm Springs Convention Center/Wyndham Palm Springs Hotel, Palm Springs, Calif.

Peretz Friedmann, François-Xavier Bagnoud Professor, Department of Aerospace Engineering, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Mich., will receive the inaugural AIAA Ashley Award for Aeroelasticity for his outstanding contributions to the understanding and application of aeroelastic phenomena. The Ashley award honors lasting contributions in rotary and fixed wing aeroelasticity, active control, optimization with aeroelastic constraints and unsteady aerodynamics that have had significant influence on vehicle design.

Raphael Haftka, Distinguished Professor, University of Florida, Gainesville, Fla., and Chin-Teh (C.T.) Sun, Neil A. Armstrong Distinguished Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics, Purdue University, West Lafayette, Ind., will receive the inaugural AIAA-ASC James H. Starnes Jr. Award. Prof. Haftka is being honored for his groundbreaking design work of practical aerospace structures, his mentoring of countless undergraduate and graduate students, and his exemplary service to the profession. Prof. Sun is being honored for his four decades of unparalleled contributions in research, to scholarly publications, professional activities, and his guidance and mentoring of students of all ages. The Starnes award recognizes continued significant contribution to and demonstrated promotion of the field of structural mechanics over an extended period of time emphasizing practical solutions, acknowledging high professionalism, and honoring strong mentoring of and influence on colleagues, especially younger colleagues.

The honorees will receive an engraved medal, a certificate of citation, and a rosette pin.
For more information about the AIAA Honors and Awards program, please contact Carol Stewart at or at 703.264.7623.

AIAA advances the state of aerospace science, engineering, and technological leadership. Headquartered in suburban Washington, D.C., the Institute serves over 35,000 members in 65 regional sections and 79 countries. AIAA membership is drawn from all levels of industry, academia, private research organizations, and government. For more information, visit

American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
1801 Alexander Bell Drive, Suite 500, Reston, VA 20191-4344
Phone: 703.264.7558 Fax: 703.264.7551

American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

Related Research Articles:

More Research News and Research Current Events

Best Science Podcasts 2019

We have hand picked the best science podcasts for 2019. Sit back and enjoy new science podcasts updated daily from your favorite science news services and scientists.
Now Playing: TED Radio Hour

Rethinking Anger
Anger is universal and complex: it can be quiet, festering, justified, vengeful, and destructive. This hour, TED speakers explore the many sides of anger, why we need it, and who's allowed to feel it. Guests include psychologists Ryan Martin and Russell Kolts, writer Soraya Chemaly, former talk radio host Lisa Fritsch, and business professor Dan Moshavi.
Now Playing: Science for the People

#538 Nobels and Astrophysics
This week we start with this year's physics Nobel Prize awarded to Jim Peebles, Michel Mayor, and Didier Queloz and finish with a discussion of the Nobel Prizes as a way to award and highlight important science. Are they still relevant? When science breakthroughs are built on the backs of hundreds -- and sometimes thousands -- of people's hard work, how do you pick just three to highlight? Join host Rachelle Saunders and astrophysicist, author, and science communicator Ethan Siegel for their chat about astrophysics and Nobel Prizes.