Nav: Home

NASA finds heaviest rainfall north of Tropical Storm Bud's center

June 14, 2018

NASA's Terra satellite captured an infrared image of Tropical Storm Bud that revealed strongest storms were in a band extending from north to east of the center. That's where the heaviest rainfall was occurring. Despite the heaviest rain being over the Eastern Pacific Ocean, tropical storm force winds were lashing southern Baja California.

At 1:40 a.m. EDT (0540 UTC) on June 14 the MODIS instrument that flies aboard NASA's Terra satellite gathered infrared data on Tropical Storm Bud. Infrared data provides temperature information. Strongest thunderstorms were north of Bud's center where MODIS found cloud top temperatures as cold as minus 63 degrees Fahrenheit (minus 53 Celsius). NASA research has shown that cloud tops with temperatures that cold were high in the troposphere and have the ability to generate heavy rain.

At 11 a.m. EDT on June 14, NOAA's National Hurricane Center (NHC) noted that Bud was lashing southern Baja California Sur with tropical-storm-force winds. At that time, a Tropical Storm Warning was in effect from Santa Fe to La Paz, Mexico, including Cabo San Lucas.

The center of Tropical Storm Bud was located near latitude 21.7 degrees north and longitude 109.6 degrees west. That's about 85 miles (135 km) south-southeast of Cabo San Lucas, Mexico.

The NHC said that Bud was moving toward the north-northwest near 7 mph (11 kph). A faster northward motion should begin later today. On the forecast track, the center of Bud is expected to cross southern Baja California Sur later today and move over the Gulf of California on Friday.

Maximum sustained winds remain near 45 mph (75 kph) with higher gusts. Although weakening is expected, Bud is forecast to still be a tropical storm when the center reaches southern Baja California Sur later today, June 14, but is expected to weaken as the cyclone moves across the peninsula. The estimated minimum central pressure is 1000 millibars.

NHC's forecast noted that Bud should decay into a tropical depression by Friday and become a remnant low while it moves inland over mainland Mexico.
-end-
For updated forecasts on Bud, visit: http://www.nhc.noaa.gov

By Rob Gutro
NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center

NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center

Related Tropical Storm Articles:

NASA looks at rainfall from Tropical Storm Dora
Now a tropical storm, Hurricane Dora has been skirting southwestern Mexico's coast since it formed and has transported tropical moisture onshore that has produced some heavy rain showers.
NASA examines potential tropical or sub-tropical storm affecting Gulf states
NASA's Global Precipitation Measurement mission or GPM core satellite passed over a developing low pressure area in the Gulf of Mexico and gathered two days of rainfall and storm height information.
NASA spots sub-tropical storm 11S still swirling
Once a tropical storm, now a sub-tropical storm, the remnants of the tropical low pressure area formerly known as 11S was spotted by NASA's Aqua satellite, still spinning in the Southern Indian Ocean.
Tropical Storm Meari forecast to intensify
Tropical Storm Meari is currently located 331 miles north of Ulithi which is an atoll in the Caroline Islands of the western Pacific Ocean.
NASA sees Tropical Storm Nicole going 'extra-tropical'
Tropical Storm Nicole was becoming extra-tropical when the NASA-NOAA Suomi NPP satellite passed over it from space and captured a visible picture of the storm.
NASA sees a much weaker Tropical Storm Lester
NASA's Aqua satellite provided an infrared view of Tropical Storm Lester that showed a lack of thunderstorm development around its center of circulation.
NASA's GPM examines Tropical Storm Lester
The Global Precipitation Measurement mission or GPM core satellite analyzed Tropical Storm Lester after it became the 12th named storm of the 2016 eastern Pacific Ocean on Aug.
NASA sees Tropical Storm Lionrock sonsolidating
NASA's Terra satellite captured a visible image of Tropical Storm Lionrock that revealed the storm is consolidating and strengthening.
NASA measures winds of Tropical Storm Omais
NASA's RapidScat instrument provided measurements of sustained wind speeds as Tropical Storm Omais was moving past Japan.
NASA sees tropical storm Howard weakening
Infrared data from NASA's Terra satellite has revealed that Tropical Storm Howard is weakening quickly as it continues to move over cooler waters in the Eastern Pacific Ocean.

Related Tropical Storm Reading:

Tropical Storm
by Melissa Good (Author), Barbara Maclay (Illustrator), Mardi Cook (Illustrator)

Book by Good, Melissa View Details


Tropical Storm
by Melissa Good (Author)

From bestselling author Melissa Good comes a tale of heartache, longing, family strife, lust for love, and redemption. Tropical Storm took the lesbian reading world by storm when it was first written . . . Don't miss this exciting revised "author's cut" edition. Dar Roberts, corporate raider for a multi-national tech company, is cold, practical, and merciless. She does her job with razor-sharp accuracy. Friends are a luxury she cannot allow herself, and love is something she knows she'll never attain. Kerry Stuart left Michigan for Florida in an attempt to get away from her domineering... View Details


Florida Hurricanes and Tropical Storms: 1871-2001, Expanded Edition
by John M. Williams (Author), Iver W. Duedall (Author)

From reviews of the first edition:

"A comprehensive, factual, concise book on Florida hurricanes. . . . Land and space photographs and storm trajectory maps are especially informative. Williams and Duedall are experts on Florida meteorology, and they have written a superb book."--Choice

"Besides acting as a comprehensive historical and meteorological reference guide, this book is a necessity for every Floridian to have on hand during hurricane season. It not only contains lists of additional hurricane references and Internet addresses, as well as hurricane preparedness... View Details


Tropical Storm
by Linda Kay Silva (Author)

Megan has disappeared into the Costa Rican rain forest, and it's up to Delta and Connie to find her with few clues to go on View Details


Tropical Storms as a Setting for Adaptive Development and Architecture: iNTA 2017 ( 6th International Network of Tropical Architecture Conference 2017)
by Nawari O Nawari (Author), Nancy Clark (Author)

Proceedings of the 6th International Network of Tropical Architecture Conference 2017 (iNTA 2017): Tropical Storms as a Setting for Adaptive Development and Architecture. iNTA 2017. December 1st -3rd, 2017. Conference topics include: - Impact of storm hazards and sea level rise on human settlement in major cities - Coastal flooding, engineering, processes, and construction - Urban adaptation response: design, planning, policy, governance, codes - Urban infrastructures at risk: water management, energy, mobility - History of tropical settlements and housing - Tropical architecture as a global... View Details


Tropical Storm Agnes in Greater Harrisburg (Images of America)
by Erik V. Fasick (Author)

Tropical Storm Agnes, along with the unprecedented flooding which resulted from it, is arguably the most significant event to have transpired in the Harrisburg area in the last 150 years. Over the course of June 21 and June 22, 1972, Agnes drenched the region with more than a foot of rain. As a result, the Susquehanna River rose to record-breaking levels and backed into the already overwhelmed feeding creeks and streams. In Harrisburg, armed National Guardsmen patrolled the vacant streets and set up checkpoints to enforce a curfew and deter looting. Surrounded by floodwaters, row homes near... View Details


Tropical Warning: An Original Serge Storms Story and Other Debris (Serge Storms series Book 17)
by William Morrow

A quirky new collection by New York Times bestselling author Tim Dorsey. In the tradition of Pineapple Grenade and The Riptide Ultra-Glide, a peculiar new volume of odds and ends from the world of everyone's favorite Florida psychopath—Serge Storms!

Among the flotsam and jetsam of Dorsey's twisted universe:

A never-before-published Serge Storms short story that places the iconic antihero in one of Florida's oldest (and most remote) little towns.

A classic travel feature in London's The Guardian detailing how you can explore Florida's... View Details


Tropical Storm Allison: Heavy rains and floods, Texas and Louisiana, June 2001
by Unknown (Author)

View Details


Tropical Storm
by 2S Publishing

TROPICAL STORM: CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE by Stefanie Graham

Can a man tangle with a tempest without getting swept away?

Millionaire hotelier Cairo Kane has dealt with his fair share of tropical storms on the Caribbean island of Jamaica. Not one to hide from tumultuous weather, he would rather attack it, head on. Six years ago he left his life in New York City and escaped to the beautiful island of Jamaica to apply himself to the business of making money. The former blue-collar boy was driven, fierce, and determined; there wasn't a challenge he didn't take or a tempest he... View Details

Best Science Podcasts 2018

We have hand picked the best science podcasts for 2018. Sit back and enjoy new science podcasts updated daily from your favorite science news services and scientists.
Now Playing: TED Radio Hour

The Person You Become
Over the course of our lives, we shed parts of our old selves, embrace new ones, and redefine who we are. This hour, TED speakers explore ideas about the experiences that shape the person we become. Guests include aerobatics pilot and public speaker Janine Shepherd, writers Roxane Gay and Taiye Selasi, activist Jackson Bird, and fashion executive Kaustav Dey.
Now Playing: Science for the People

#479 Garden of Marvels (Rebroadcast)
This week we're learning about botany and the colorful science of gardening. Author Ruth Kassinger joins us to discuss her book "A Garden of Marvels: How We Discovered that Flowers Have Sex, Leaves Eat Air, and Other Secrets of the Way Plants Work." And we'll speak to NASA researcher Gioia Massa about her work to solve the technical challenges of gardening in space.