ASA announces recipients of 2000 ASA Awards

June 29, 2000

WASHINGTON - The American Sociological Association (ASA) is pleased to announce the winners of the ASA Awards for 2000 to be presented in a ceremony at the Annual Meeting in Washington DC on Sunday August 13th at 4:30 p.m. Nominations are submitted to the ASA each year from members and other interested persons. Award selection committees, appointed by the ASA Council, receive nominations and make a final decision on the awards. The ASA Awards and the winners for 2000 are:

Career of Distinguished Scholarship Award: Seymour Martin Lipset, George Mason University

This annual award honors a scholar who has shown outstanding commitment to the profession of sociology and whose cumulative work has contributed in important ways to the advancement of the discipline. The body of lifetime work may include theoretical and/or methodological contributions, particularly work that substantially reorients the field in general or a particular subfield.

Distinguished Scholarly Publication Award: Charles Tilly, Columbia University, for Durable Inequality, University of California Press (1998)

This annual award is given for a single book or monograph published in the three preceding calendar years. The winner of this award gives the Sorokin Lecture at a meeting of a regional or state sociological association.

Distinguished Contributions to Teaching Award: George Ritzer, University of Maryland

This award is given annually to honor outstanding contributions to the undergraduate and/or graduate teaching and learning of sociology which improve the quality of teaching. The award may recognize either a career contribution or a specific product.

Distinguished Career Award for the Practice of Sociology: Frances Fox Piven, CUNY Graduate Center, and Richard A. Cloward, Columbia University

This annual award honors outstanding contributions to sociological practice. The award may recognize work that has facilitated or served as a model for the work of others, work that has significantly advanced the utility of one or more specialty areas in sociology and, by so doing, has elevated the professional status or public image of the field as whole, or work that has been honored or widely recognized outside the discipline for its significant impacts, particularly in advancing human welfare.

Award for Public Understanding of Sociology: Arlie Russell Hochschild, University of California, Berkeley

This award is given annually to a person or persons who have made exemplary contributions to advance the public understanding of sociology, sociological research, and scholarship among the general public. The award may recognize a contribution in the preceding year or for a longer career of such contributions.

Jessie Bernard Award: Maxine Baca Zinn, Michigan State University

The Jessie Bernard Award is given annually in recognition of scholarly work that has enlarged the horizons of sociology to encompass fully the role of women in society. The contribution may be in empirical research, theory, or methodology. It may be for an exceptional single work, several pieces of work, or significant cumulative work done throughout a professional career.

DuBois-Johnson-Frazier Award: Charles U. Smith, Florida A&M University

This annual award honors the intellectual traditions of W.E.B. DuBois, Charles S. Johnson, and E. Franklin Frazier. The award is given for either a lifetime of research, teaching, and service to the community, or to an academic institution for its work in assisting the development of scholarly efforts in this tradition.

Dissertation Award: Wan He, University of Maryland

The Dissertation Award honors the best PhD dissertation for a calendar year from among those submitted by advisors and mentors in the discipline. The Dissertation Award for 2000 is awarded for the best dissertation defended during calendar year 1999.
Founded in 1905, the ASA is a non-profit membership organization dedicated to advancing sociology as a scientific discipline and profession serving the public good

American Sociological Association is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to