Nav: Home

NASA's infrared look at Hurricane Gert

August 16, 2017

NASA's Aqua satellite provided an infrared look at the power within Atlantic Hurricane Gert and saw the hurricane had very cold cloud top temperatures.

The Atmospheric Infrared Sounder or AIRS instrument that flies aboard NASA's Aqua satellite analyzed Gert in infrared light on Aug. 15 at 2:17 p.m. EDT (1817 UTC). AIRS data showed Gert's cloud pattern had become better organized than it was earlier in the day, and Gert had a well-defined convective band of thunderstorms around the center.

Some of the coldest cloud top temperatures exceeded minus 63 degrees Fahrenheit (minus 53 degrees Celsius). Storms with temperatures that cold are high in the troposphere and NASA research has shown they have the ability to generate heavy rain.

Earlier in the day, Gert had exhibited hints of an eye in visible satellite imagery, but the AIRS infrared imagery didn't show an eye when NASA's Aqua satellite analyzed the storm.

At 11 a.m. EDT (15900 UTC) on Wednesday, Aug. 16, 2017, the center of Hurricane Gert was located near 36 degrees north latitude and 68.4 degrees west longitude. That's about 355 miles (575 km) northwest of Bermuda and 510 miles (820 km) south-southwest of Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada.

Gert was moving toward the northeast near 25 mph (41 kph). The National Hurricane Center (NHC) expects an even faster motion toward the northeast or east-northeast through early Friday, Aug. 18. The estimated minimum central pressure is 975 millibars. Maximum sustained winds increased to near 95 mph (150 kph) with higher gusts. Some additional strengthening is possible through Aug. 16 and then Gert is expected to weaken.

Gert is forecast to become an extratropical low pressure system by Thursday night, Aug. 17.

Although Gert is not close to the coast, the hurricane is stirring up rough seas that are affecting U.S. East coastal areas. The National Hurricane Center said "swells generated by Gert will spread northward along the east coast of the United States from Virginia northward to New England and Atlantic Canada during the next couple of days. Swells are also expected to continue to affect Bermuda through tonight. These swells are likely to cause life-threatening surf and rip current conditions."
-end-
For updates on Gert, visit the National Hurricane Center webpage: http://www.nhc.noaa.gov

NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center

Related Hurricane Articles:

2017 hurricane season follows year of extremes
2016 hurricane season started in January and ended 318 days later in late-November.
Study Offers New Insight on Hurricane Intensification
In a new study, researchers from the University of Miami (UM) Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science showed the first direct observations of hurricane winds warming the ocean surface beneath them due to the interactions with currents from an underlying warm-water whirlpool.
NASA provides a 3-D look at Hurricane Seymour
Hurricane Seymour became a major hurricane on Oct. 25 as the Global Precipitation Measurement mission or GPM core satellite analyzed the storm's very heavy rainfall and provided a 3-D image of the storm's structure.
NASA sees Hurricane Seymour becoming a major hurricane
Hurricane Seymour was strengthening into a major hurricane in the Eastern Pacific Ocean when the NASA-NOAA Suomi NPP satellite passed over it from space.
NASA animation shows Seymour becomes a hurricane
Tropical Depression 20 formed in the Eastern Pacific Ocean on Sunday and by Monday at 11 a.m. it exploded into a hurricane named Seymour.
Hermine becomes a hurricane in the Gulf of Mexico
Tropical Storm Hermine officially reached hurricane status on Thursday, Sept.
NASA spies major Hurricane Georgette
Hurricane Georgette is a major hurricane in the Eastern Pacific Ocean.
NASA peers into major Hurricane Blas
As NASA satellites gather data on the first major hurricane of the Eastern Pacific Ocean hurricane season, Blas continues to hold onto its Category 3 status on the Saffir Simpson Wind Scale.
NASA gets an eyeful of Hurricane Blas
Satellites eyeing powerful Hurricane Blas in the Eastern Pacific Ocean revealed a large eye as the powerful storm continued to move over open waters.
Early use of 'hurricane hunter' data improves hurricane intensity predictions
Data collected via airplane when a hurricane is developing can improve hurricane intensity predictions by up to 15 percent, according to Penn State researchers who have been working with the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration and the National Hurricane Center to put the new technique into practice.

Related Hurricane Reading:

Hurricanes!
by Gail Gibbons (Author)

Imagine a force that can toss boats around like toys, wash away bridges, and create waves as high as eighteen feet. With fierce winds and torrential rains, hurricanes can do all of these things. They can cause tremendous damage and even change the shape of a shoreline. For centuries people did not know when a hurricane was coming. But now we have new methods to predict when and where these storms will occur. Young readers will learn how hurricanes are formed, how they are named and classified, and what to do if a dangerous storm is on the way.  View Details


Hurricanes
by Seymour Simon (Author)

Takes young readers on an in-depth exploration of one of the most awe-inspiring and devastating events in nature: hurricanes

This dramatic nonfiction picture book is intensified through arresting full-color photographs and satellite images.

Award-winning science writer Seymour Simon explains what hurricanes are and how they develop; what storm surges are; and the basics of forecasting and precautions that families should take.

Booklist commented: "This is unsurpassed for kindling interest in a scientific subject and communicating an... View Details


Hurricane
by David Wiesner (Author)

When a storm is raging, David and George are glad to be inside the house, snug and safe. In this spectacular picture book by Caldecott Honor recipient David Wisener, a fallen tree becomes the threshold to the limitless voyage of the imagination, which David and George share as only true friends--and brothers--can. View Details


Hurricane: The Miraculous Journey of Rubin Carter
by James S. Hirsch (Author)

In 1967, the black boxer Rubin "Hurricane" Carter and a young acquaintance, John Artis, were wrongly convicted of triple murder by an all-white jury in Paterson, New Jersey. Over the next decade, Carter gradually amassed convincing evidence of his innocence and the vocal support of celebrities from Bob Dylan to Muhammad Ali. He was freed in 1976 pending a new trial, but he lost his appeal -- to the amazement of many -- and landed back in prison.
Carter, bereft, shunned almost all human contact until he received a letter from Lesra Martin, a teenager raised in a Brooklyn ghetto. Against... View Details


Hurricane!
by Jonathan London (Author), Henri Sorensen (Illustrator)

"The power, danger, and excitement of a hurricane are brought to life in this picture book." (School Library Journal)

Told from the perspective of a boy who witnesses the sky growing ominously purple and rushes to evacuate with his family, Hurricane! is set in Puerto Rico and based on a childhood experience of the author's.

The family huddles together in a shelter while the winds howl. They and their neighbors take solace from gently singing "Silent Night" while waiting out the storm.

The you-are-there immediacy of this picture book,... View Details


The Hurricane
by R.J. Prescott (Author), Cassy Roop Pink Ink Designs (Author), Jenny Sims Editing 4 Indies (Editor), Louisa Maggio LM Cover Creations (Editor)

Emily McCarthy is living in fear of a dark and dangerous past. A gifted mathematician, she is little more than a hollow, broken shell, trying desperately to make ends meet long enough to finish her degree. Through an unlikely friendship with the aging, cantankerous owner of an old boxing gym, Em is thrown into the path of the most dangerous man that she has ever met. Cormac “the Hurricane” O’Connell is cut, tattooed and dangerous. He is a lethal weapon with no safety and everyone is waiting for the mis-fire. He’s never been knocked out before, but when he meet Em he falls, HARD.... View Details


Hurricanes: Earth's Mightiest Storms
by Patricia Lauber (Author)

Tells how hurricanes form, how scientists study them, and how they have affected the United States throughout this century. View Details


Sudden Sea: The Great Hurricane of 1938
by R.A. Scotti (Author)

In the tradition of "The Perfect Storm, Sudden Sea" harkens back to a natural disaster that struck terror in the hearts of many. In this narrative, readers experience The Great Hurricane of 1938, the most financially destructive storm on record. View Details


Hurricanes (Earth in Action)
by Mari Schuh (Author)

Provide young readers with a better understanding of what causes these weather events and how to stay safe should a dangerous situation arise. With simple text and large, outstanding photos, readers will not only be informed, but also gain an appreciation of these awesome phenomenons. View Details


Hurricane Harvey
by Houston Chronicle (Author)

The Houston Chronicle is proud to present "Hurricane Harvey: by the staff of the Houston Chronicle," a hardcover book that captures Harvey's wide-reaching devastation and Houston's indomitable spirit. This 200-page book will feature breathtaking photos and compelling stories from the award-winning staff of the Houston Chronicle. A portion of the proceeds from this book will go to help those impacted by the hurricane in Houston and across the Texas Gulf Coast, donating to the Greater Houston Community Foundation Hurricane Harvey Relief Fund and Rebuild Texas Fund. View Details

Best Science Podcasts 2018

We have hand picked the best science podcasts for 2018. Sit back and enjoy new science podcasts updated daily from your favorite science news services and scientists.
Now Playing: TED Radio Hour

The Big Five
What are the five biggest global challenges we face right now — and what can we do about them? This hour, TED speakers explore some radical solutions to these enduring problems. Guests include geoengineer Tim Kruger, president of the International Rescue Committee David Miliband, political scientist Ian Bremmer, global data analyst Sarah Menker, and historian Rutger Bregman.
Now Playing: Science for the People

#457 Trowel Blazing
This week we look at some of the lesser known historical figures and current public perception of anthropology, archaeology, and other fields that end in "ology". Rebecca Wragg Sykes, an archaeologist, writer, and co-founder of the TrowelBlazers, tells us about the Raising Horizons project and how their team is trying to shine the spotlight on the forgotten historical women of archaeological, geological, and palaeontological science. And Kristina Killgrove, assistant professor of anthropology at the University of West Florida and science writer, talks about the public perception of the fields of anthropology and archeology, and how those science are represented -...