Nav: Home

NASA's infrared look at Hurricane Gert

August 16, 2017

NASA's Aqua satellite provided an infrared look at the power within Atlantic Hurricane Gert and saw the hurricane had very cold cloud top temperatures.

The Atmospheric Infrared Sounder or AIRS instrument that flies aboard NASA's Aqua satellite analyzed Gert in infrared light on Aug. 15 at 2:17 p.m. EDT (1817 UTC). AIRS data showed Gert's cloud pattern had become better organized than it was earlier in the day, and Gert had a well-defined convective band of thunderstorms around the center.

Some of the coldest cloud top temperatures exceeded minus 63 degrees Fahrenheit (minus 53 degrees Celsius). Storms with temperatures that cold are high in the troposphere and NASA research has shown they have the ability to generate heavy rain.

Earlier in the day, Gert had exhibited hints of an eye in visible satellite imagery, but the AIRS infrared imagery didn't show an eye when NASA's Aqua satellite analyzed the storm.

At 11 a.m. EDT (15900 UTC) on Wednesday, Aug. 16, 2017, the center of Hurricane Gert was located near 36 degrees north latitude and 68.4 degrees west longitude. That's about 355 miles (575 km) northwest of Bermuda and 510 miles (820 km) south-southwest of Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada.

Gert was moving toward the northeast near 25 mph (41 kph). The National Hurricane Center (NHC) expects an even faster motion toward the northeast or east-northeast through early Friday, Aug. 18. The estimated minimum central pressure is 975 millibars. Maximum sustained winds increased to near 95 mph (150 kph) with higher gusts. Some additional strengthening is possible through Aug. 16 and then Gert is expected to weaken.

Gert is forecast to become an extratropical low pressure system by Thursday night, Aug. 17.

Although Gert is not close to the coast, the hurricane is stirring up rough seas that are affecting U.S. East coastal areas. The National Hurricane Center said "swells generated by Gert will spread northward along the east coast of the United States from Virginia northward to New England and Atlantic Canada during the next couple of days. Swells are also expected to continue to affect Bermuda through tonight. These swells are likely to cause life-threatening surf and rip current conditions."
-end-
For updates on Gert, visit the National Hurricane Center webpage: http://www.nhc.noaa.gov

NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center

Related Hurricane Articles:

2017 hurricane season follows year of extremes
2016 hurricane season started in January and ended 318 days later in late-November.
Study Offers New Insight on Hurricane Intensification
In a new study, researchers from the University of Miami (UM) Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science showed the first direct observations of hurricane winds warming the ocean surface beneath them due to the interactions with currents from an underlying warm-water whirlpool.
NASA provides a 3-D look at Hurricane Seymour
Hurricane Seymour became a major hurricane on Oct. 25 as the Global Precipitation Measurement mission or GPM core satellite analyzed the storm's very heavy rainfall and provided a 3-D image of the storm's structure.
NASA sees Hurricane Seymour becoming a major hurricane
Hurricane Seymour was strengthening into a major hurricane in the Eastern Pacific Ocean when the NASA-NOAA Suomi NPP satellite passed over it from space.
NASA animation shows Seymour becomes a hurricane
Tropical Depression 20 formed in the Eastern Pacific Ocean on Sunday and by Monday at 11 a.m. it exploded into a hurricane named Seymour.
Hermine becomes a hurricane in the Gulf of Mexico
Tropical Storm Hermine officially reached hurricane status on Thursday, Sept.
NASA spies major Hurricane Georgette
Hurricane Georgette is a major hurricane in the Eastern Pacific Ocean.
NASA peers into major Hurricane Blas
As NASA satellites gather data on the first major hurricane of the Eastern Pacific Ocean hurricane season, Blas continues to hold onto its Category 3 status on the Saffir Simpson Wind Scale.
NASA gets an eyeful of Hurricane Blas
Satellites eyeing powerful Hurricane Blas in the Eastern Pacific Ocean revealed a large eye as the powerful storm continued to move over open waters.
Early use of 'hurricane hunter' data improves hurricane intensity predictions
Data collected via airplane when a hurricane is developing can improve hurricane intensity predictions by up to 15 percent, according to Penn State researchers who have been working with the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration and the National Hurricane Center to put the new technique into practice.

Related Hurricane Reading:

Hurricanes!
by Gail Gibbons (Author)

Imagine a force that can toss boats around like toys, wash away bridges, and create waves as high as eighteen feet. With fierce winds and torrential rains, hurricanes can do all of these things. They can cause tremendous damage and even change the shape of a shoreline. For centuries people did not know when a hurricane was coming. But now we have new methods to predict when and where these storms will occur. Young readers will learn how hurricanes are formed, how they are named and classified, and what to do if a dangerous storm is on the way.  View Details


Hurricane
by David Wiesner (Author)

When a storm is raging, David and George are glad to be inside the house, snug and safe. In this spectacular picture book by Caldecott Honor recipient David Wisener, a fallen tree becomes the threshold to the limitless voyage of the imagination, which David and George share as only true friends--and brothers--can. View Details


Hurricanes
by Seymour Simon (Author)

Takes young readers on an in-depth exploration of one of the most awe-inspiring and devastating events in nature: hurricanes

This dramatic nonfiction picture book is intensified through arresting full-color photographs and satellite images.

Award-winning science writer Seymour Simon explains what hurricanes are and how they develop; what storm surges are; and the basics of forecasting and precautions that families should take.

Booklist commented: "This is unsurpassed for kindling interest in a scientific subject and communicating an... View Details


Hurricane!
by Jonathan London (Author), Henri Sorensen (Illustrator)

"The power, danger, and excitement of a hurricane are brought to life in this picture book." (School Library Journal)

Told from the perspective of a boy who witnesses the sky growing ominously purple and rushes to evacuate with his family, Hurricane! is set in Puerto Rico and based on a childhood experience of the author's.

The family huddles together in a shelter while the winds howl. They and their neighbors take solace from gently singing "Silent Night" while waiting out the storm.

The you-are-there immediacy of this picture book,... View Details


Hurricane (Cutter Cay)
by Cherry Adair (Author)

SWEPT AWAY BY PASSION. . .


Rydell Case’s ship is his home, his heart, and his reason for being. After his ex-wife left him―taking his brand-new megayacht, Tesoro Mio with her―she sailed off with a royal billionaire and out of his life forever. Now Ry spends his days searching for treasure―until his ship is hijacked. With the prospect of his salvage business tanking, he needs both the ship and his ex back―if only she didn’t despise him more than any man on earth. . .

When Addison D’Marco boards Tesoro Mio to find her ex-husband in her... View Details


DK Eyewitness Books: Hurricane & Tornado
by Jack Challoner (Author)

Now in Paperback!

Eyewitness: Hurricane & Tornado is a compelling guide to nature's most dangerous and destructive forces. Striking images, models and illustrations offer a unique view of catastrophic weather conditions allowing readers to see into the eye of a cyclone, witness hailstones the size of tennis balls, and learn how a gentle mountain stream can become a raging surge within a few minutes. Learn the techniques developed through the centuries to forecast weather, see a chicken that was stripped of its feathers by a tornado, and how human activity can cause weather patterns... View Details


Sudden Sea: The Great Hurricane of 1938
by R.A. Scotti (Author)

In the tradition of "The Perfect Storm, Sudden Sea" harkens back to a natural disaster that struck terror in the hearts of many. In this narrative, readers experience The Great Hurricane of 1938, the most financially destructive storm on record. View Details


Hurricanes (Earth in Action)
by Mari Schuh (Author)

Provide young readers with a better understanding of what causes these weather events and how to stay safe should a dangerous situation arise. With simple text and large, outstanding photos, readers will not only be informed, but also gain an appreciation of these awesome phenomenons. View Details


The Magic School Bus Inside A Hurricane
by Joanna Cole (Author), Bruce Degen (Illustrator)

To celebrate its 20th anniversary, Scholastic is re-releasing the ten original Magic School Bus titles in paperback. With updated scientific information, the bestselling science series ever is back! Count on Ms. Frizzle to teach anything but an ordinary lesson on meteorology. Flying through the clouds in the Magic School Bus, Ms. Frizzle's class experiences a hurricane-and even a tornado-firsthand. During their thrilling ride through the sky, Arnold gets lost! Will the Friz be able to save the day this time? View Details


Zane and the Hurricane: A Story of Katrina
by Rodman Philbrick (Author)

Newbery Honor author Rodman Philbrick presents a gripping yet poignant novel about a 12-year-old boy and his dog who become trapped in New Orleans during the horrors of Hurricane Katrina.

Zane Dupree is a charismatic 12-year-old boy of mixed race visiting a relative in New Orleans when Hurricane Katrina hits. Unexpectedly separated from all family, Zane and his dog experience the terror of Katrina's wind, rain, and horrific flooding. Facing death, they are rescued from an attic air vent by a kind, elderly musician and a scrappy young girl--both African American. The chaos that ensues... View Details

Best Science Podcasts 2017

We have hand picked the best science podcasts for 2017. Sit back and enjoy new science podcasts updated daily from your favorite science news services and scientists.
Now Playing: TED Radio Hour

Simple Solutions
Sometimes, the best solutions to complex problems are simple. But simple doesn't always mean easy. This hour, TED speakers describe the innovation and hard work that goes into achieving simplicity. Guests include designer Mileha Soneji, chef Sam Kass, sleep researcher Wendy Troxel, public health advocate Myriam Sidibe, and engineer Amos Winter.
Now Playing: Science for the People

#448 Pavlov (Rebroadcast)
This week, we're learning about the life and work of a groundbreaking physiologist whose work on learning and instinct is familiar worldwide, and almost universally misunderstood. We'll spend the hour with Daniel Todes, Ph.D, Professor of History of Medicine at The Johns Hopkins University, discussing his book "Ivan Pavlov: A Russian Life in Science."