NASA's Terra Satellite sees powerful storms ring Typhoon Atsani's eye

August 17, 2015

Typhoon Atsani's eye was "ringed" or surrounded by powerful thunderstorms on August 17 when NASA's Terra satellite passed overhead.

Typhoon Atsani formed on August 14 as Tropical Depression 17W. By 2100 UTC (5 p.m. EDT) that day, 17W strengthened into a tropical depression was named Atsani. On August 16 at 0900 UTC (5 a.m. EDT), Atsani strengthened into a typhoon.

On Aug. 17 at 7:20 a.m. EDT (11:20 UTC) the Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer or MODIS instrument aboard NASA's Terra satellite captured an infrared image of strong thunderstorms around Typhoon Atsani's eye. The infrared imagery revealed very cold thunderstorm cloud tops with temperatures as cold as or colder than -63F/-53C. Cloud top temperatures that high indicate strong storms with the potential to drop heavy rainfall.

At 1500 UTC (11 a.m. EDT), on August 17, Typhoon Atsani had maximum sustained winds near 95 knots (109.3 mph/ 175.9 kph). It was centered near 15.0 North latitude and 158.0 East longitude, about 358 nautical miles (412 miles/663 km) north-northwest of Ujelang. Atsani was moving to the north-northwest at 6 knots (6.9 mph/11.1 kph).

The Joint Typhoon Warning Center expects Atsani to move to the northwest and intensify up to 130 knots by August 20 before weakening again.
-end-


NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center

Related Tropical Depression Articles from Brightsurf:

NASA finds strength in new Gulf Tropical Depression 8
NASA's Aqua satellite used infrared light to identify the strongest storms and coldest cloud top temperatures in Tropical Depression 8, spinning in the Gulf of Mexico.

NASA finds Tropical Depression Peipah dissipating
NASA's Terra satellite passed over the northwestern Pacific Ocean and provided a final view of Tropical Depression Peipah.

NASA analyzes new Atlantic depression's tropical rainfall
Tropical Depression 3 has formed about off the eastern coast of central Florida.

Tropical Depression Gordon still lingering over Arkansas
Tropical Depression Gordon just doesn't want to give up. Gordon is meandering in the southern US and satellites pinpointed its center over Arkansas on Friday, Sept.

Satellites tracking the rainfall from Tropical Depression Gordon
Gordon is still considered a tropical depression as it makes its way into the south central US NOAA's GOES-East satellite provided an infrared look at clouds associated with Gordon and found its center over Mississippi.

NASA satellite finds Jongdari a Tropical Depression
NASA-NOAA's Suomi NPP satellite found Tropical Depression Jongdari was still being battered by wind shear.

NASA sees Tropical Depression Jongdari stretched out
Wind shear is stretching out Tropical Storm Jongdari and NASA's Aqua satellite captured and image that showed the oval-shaped storm.

NASA finds development of Tropical Depression 16W
Tropical Depression 16W formed in the northwestern Pacific Ocean despite vertical wind shear.

NASA catches tropical depression 9E at peak before dissipation
The Eastern Pacific Ocean's Tropical Depression 9E formed on July 26 and by July 27 the depression had dissipated over 1,200 miles from Hilo, Hawaii.

NASA looks at rainfall intensity in Tropical Depression Bolaven
The Global Precipitation Measurement mission or GPM core satellite gathered data on rainfall rates occurring in Tropical Depression Bolaven as it moved toward Vietnam.

Read More: Tropical Depression News and Tropical Depression Current Events
Brightsurf.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.