1998 European Academic Software Awards

August 27, 1998

Seventeen software packages from universities and other organisations in the UK have been shortlisted to attend the final judging round of the 1998 European Academic Software Awards (EASA), to be held at ALT-C at the University of Oxford on 19-21 September. There are 35 finalists competing for ten prizes.

Nick Hammond of the Association for Learning Technology, the principal UK partner in the awards, was pleased at the high number of UK entries which got through to the final round.

"While the UK entries were not in the majority, over half the finalists are from the UK, which is a greater proportion than ever before. This demonstrates a growing commitment to the development of quality educational software in Britain," he said.

There were 249 entries to EASA 98 in total, including 90 from the UK - more than double the number of UK entries in 1996. Of the 17 UK finalists, three are in the medical science category, three in biological sciences, three in generic support, two in mathematics, two in social sciences, and one each in arts and humanities, education, economics, and engineering.

The full list of EASA finalists can be seen on the Web at: http://cti-psy.york.ac.uk/easa98/finalists.htm

The EASA prizes will be presented at the Sheldonian Theatre in Oxford on Monday 21 September during the opening ceremony of ALT-C 98.

The software exhibition will be open to the public on the morning of Monday 21 September. Journalists wishing to attend the finals and award ceremony should contact Anna Turner, ALT-C 98 at: altc98@conted.ox.ac.uk Tel: 44 (0)1865 288166.

Notes To Editors:
ACCS
Alison Hudson, Sheffield Hallam University
a.r.hudson@shu.ac.uk
0114 225 4747

Bihari Farmer
John Stainfield, University of Plymouth
jstainfield@plymouth.ac.uk
01752 233069

CALRAD
Mrs Jennifer Wilson, University of Dundee
j.x.wilson@dundee.ac.uk
01738 638665

CASTLE
Dr Helen Pownall, Univerity of Leicester
hrp3@le.ac.uk
0116 252 5085

CC2
Douglas Quinney, Keele University
D.Quinney@keele.ac.uk
01782 583266

coMentor
Catherine Skinner, Huddersfield University
c.z.skinner@hud.ac.uk
01484 473302

Glacial Analysis: an interactive introduction
Dr Jane Hart, University of Southampton
jhart@soton.ac.uk
01703 594615

HomeBeats
Arun Kundnani, Institute of Race Relations
arun@kundnani.demon.co.uk
0171 837 0041

The Human Brain CD-ROM
Marion Hall, Open University
m.j.hall@open.ac.uk
01908 655136

Interactive Rheumatology Tutor
Dr Ray Armstrong FRCP, Southampton University Hospitals NHS Trust
Ray_Armstrong@compuserve.com
01703 796451, 01703 796452

LabAssistant
Dr Richard Parsons, University of Dundee
r.parsons@dundee.ac.uk
01382 344265

The Marketing CD-ROMs
Paul Smith, The Multimedia Marketing Organisation
psmith@lgu.ac.uk
0171 320 1454

Merlin
Debra Marsh, University of Hull
d.a.marsh@langc.hull.ac.uk
01482 466186

SALMON
Dr Paul Kenyon, University of Plymouth
pkenyon@salmon.psy.plym.ac.uk
01752 233157

Transmath V2.1
Dr J Pitchford, University of Leeds
transmath@amsta.leeds.ac.uk
0113 233 5174

The Trunk
Peter Twining, The Open University
p.twining@open.ac.uk
01908 655078

The X-Ray Files
J Stephenson, The Dental School, University of Newcastle-upon-Tyne
j.j.stephenson@ncl.ac.uk
0191 222 8719

-end-


University of Oxford

Related Education Articles from Brightsurf:

Applying artificial intelligence to science education
A new review published in the Journal of Research in Science Teaching highlights the potential of machine learning--a subset of artificial intelligence--in science education.

Dementia education
School-based dementia education could deliver much needed empathy and understanding for older generations as new research from the University of South Australia shows it can significantly improve dementia knowledge and awareness among younger generations.

How can education researchers support education and public health and institutions during COVID-19?
As education researchers' ongoing work is interrupted by school closures, what can they do to support education and public health institutions dealing with the Covid-19 pandemic?

Online education platforms could scale high-quality STEM education for universities
Online and blended (online and in-person) STEM instruction can produce the same learning outcomes for students as traditional, in-person classes at a fraction of the cost, finds research published today in Science Advances.

Technology in higher education: learning with it instead of from it
Technology has shifted the way that professors teach students in higher education.

The new racial disparity in special education
Racial disparity in special education is growing, and it's more complex than previously thought.

Education may be key to a healthier, wealthier US
A first-of-its-kind study estimate the economic value of education for better health and longevity.

How education may stave off cognitive decline
Prefrontal brain regions linked to higher educational attainment are characterized by increased expression of genes involved in neurotransmission and immunity, finds a study of healthy older adults published in JNeurosci.

Does more education stem political violence?
In a study released online today in Review of Educational Research, a peer-reviewed journal of the American Educational Research Association, three Norwegian researchers attempt to bring clarity to this question by undertaking the first systematic examination of quantitative research on this topic.

Individual education programs not being used as intended in special education
Gone are the days when students with disabilities were placed in a separate classroom, or even in a completely different part of the school.

Read More: Education News and Education Current Events
Brightsurf.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.