Nav: Home

The American Phytopathological Society announces award recipients

September 10, 2000

St. Paul, MN. (Sept. 7, 2000) -- The American Phytopathological Society (APS) awards were presented at the 2000 APS Annual Meeting, in New Orleans, Louisiana.

The six members named Fellows in the Society were: C. Lee Campbell (given posthumously), North Carolina State University; Margaret Daub, North Carolina State University; Roger Hull, John Innes Center; Robert Alexander McIntosh, University of Sydney; Robert D. Riggs, University of Arkansas; and Laveran W. "Pete" Timmer, University of Florida. APS grants the Fellows designation to a current APS member in recognition of distinguished contributions to plant pathology or to the Society.

Mike Ellis, Ohio State University at Wooster, was presented the Excellence in Extension Award. Glen R. Stanosz, University of Wisconsin, received the Excellence in Teaching of Plant Pathology Award.

The Ruth Allen recipients are: James C. Carrington, Institute of Biological Chemistry at Washington State University and William G. Dougherty, Department of Microbiology, Oregon State University. These recipients are honored for their outstanding contributions to the science of plant pathology.

The Lee M. Hutchins Award was presented to Gareth Hughes, University of Edinburgh. This award honors the best contribution presented in one or more full-length papers reporting basic or applied research of diseases of perennial fruit plants published in a recent, official AOS publication.

Receiving the Novartis Award (formerly the CIBA Geigy Award) was Gary P. Munkvold, Iowa State University. This award recognizes an outstanding recent contribution in plant pathology to teaching, research, or extension.

The International Service Award was presented to Christopher C. Mundt, Oregon State University. This award honors outstanding contributions to plant pathology by APS members for a country other than his or her own.
The American Phytopathological Society is a professional scientific organization dedicated to the study and control of plant disease with nearly 5,000 members worldwide. For more information, visit the Society's web site at .

American Phytopathological Society

Related Research Articles:

Related Research Reading:

Research Design: Qualitative, Quantitative, and Mixed Methods Approaches
by John W. Creswell (Author), J. David Creswell (Author)

The Craft of Research, Fourth Edition (Chicago Guides to Writing, Editing, and Publishing)
by Wayne C. Booth (Author), Gregory G. Colomb (Author), Joseph M. Williams (Author), Joseph Bizup (Author), William T. FitzGerald (Author)

Qualitative Inquiry and Research Design: Choosing Among Five Approaches
by John W. Creswell (Author), Cheryl N. Poth (Author)

Understanding Research Methods
by Mildred L. Patten (Author), Michelle Newhart (Editor)

Research Design: Qualitative, Quantitative and Mixed Methods Approaches
by John W. Creswell (Author)

Research Methods in Psychology: Evaluating a World of Information (Third Edition)
by Beth Morling (Author)

Marketing Research (8th Edition)
by Alvin C. Burns (Author), Ann Veeck (Author), Ronald F. Bush (Author)

Methods in Behavioral Research
by Paul C. Cozby (Author), Scott Bates (Author)

Single-Case Research Designs: Methods for Clinical and Applied Settings
by Alan E. Kazdin (Author)

Essentials of Nursing Research: Appraising Evidence for Nursing Practice
by Denise F. Polit PhD FAAN (Author), Cheryl Tatano Beck DNSc CNM FAAN (Author)

Best Science Podcasts 2019

We have hand picked the best science podcasts for 2019. Sit back and enjoy new science podcasts updated daily from your favorite science news services and scientists.
Now Playing: TED Radio Hour

Approaching With Kindness
We often forget to say the words "thank you." But can those two words change how you — and those around you — look at the world? This hour, TED speakers on the power of gratitude and appreciation. Guests include author AJ Jacobs, author and former baseball player Mike Robbins, Dr. Laura Trice, Professor of Management Christine Porath, and former Danish politician Özlem Cekic.
Now Playing: Science for the People

#509 Anisogamy: The Beginning of Male and Female
This week we discuss how the sperm and egg came to be, and how a difference of reproductive interest has led to sexual conflict in bed bugs. We'll be speaking with Dr. Geoff Parker, an evolutionary biologist credited with developing a theory to explain the evolution of two sexes, about anisogamy, sexual reproduction through the fusion of two different gametes: the egg and the sperm. Then we'll speak with Dr. Roberto Pereira, research scientist in urban entomology at the University of Florida, about traumatic insemination in bed bugs.