APS Foundation names student travel award recipients

September 10, 2004

St. Paul, Minn. (September 10, 2004) - The American Phytopathological Society (APS) Foundation recently presented 18 student members with the 2004 student travel awards. Each award recipient received $400 from the APS Foundation to help them attend the APS Annual Meeting, August 2004, in Anaheim, Calif.

The travel awards are designed to help students studying in the field of plant pathology present their work, either in an oral or poster presentation, at the society's annual meeting.

The 2004 student travel award recipients include:

Abby Guerra-Moreno, University of Florida; Gladys Mbofung, University of Arizona; Sarah Blumer, Michigan State University; Kelly Mann, Michigan State University; Sharon M. Yelton, University of Kentucky; Nicole LoGiudice, Cornell University; Amy Ziems, University of Nebraska; Melinda Sullivan, North Carolina State University; Edwin Palencia, University of Georgia; Yilan Zhang, University of Manitoba; Jane Davey, University of Delaware; Eva Grimme, Montana State University; Vihange Pahalawatta, Washington State University; Anne DeMarsay, Rutgers University; Alison Bentley, University of Sydney; Aswathy Sreedharan, Oklahoma State University; Kerik Cox, University of Georgia; and Nanda Chakraborty, University of Wisconsin.

More information about the awards and the APS Foundation can be found at http://www.apsnet.org/foundation. The American Phytopathological Society (APS) is a non-profit, professional scientific organization. The research of the organization's 5,000 worldwide members advances the understanding of the science of plant pathology and its application to plant health.

American Phytopathological Society
Brightsurf.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.