Nav: Home

NASA sees spiraling bands of storms wrap into Tropical Cyclone Doksuri

September 13, 2017

NASA's Aqua satellite observed fragmented feeder bands of strong thunderstorms spiraling into the low-level center of Tropical Cyclone Doksuri.

On Sept. 13 at 2:10 a.m. EDT (0610 UTC) the Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer or MODIS instrument that flies aboard NASA's Aqua satellite captured a visible-light image of the storm as it moved west in the South China Sea. Fragmented bands of thunderstorms spiraled into the center from the western and southern sides of the storm.

Tropical depression 21W strengthened into a tropical storm and was renamed "Doksuri."

On Sept. 13, 2017 at 11 a.m. EDT (1500 UTC) Doksuri's maximum sustained winds were near 51.7 mph (45 knots/83.3 kph), so it is at tropical storm strength. Doksuri was centered near 15.8 degrees north latitude and 114.0 degrees east longitude, about 359 nautical miles east of Da Nang, Vietnam. Doksuri has tracked to the west-northwestward at 16 mph (14 knots/26 kph).

The Joint Typhoon Warning Center expects Doksuri to intensify over the next day and a half and move through the Gulf of Tonkin and make landfall in northeastern Vietnam on Sept. 15. After landfall, the system is forecast to rapidly erode and dissipate by tau 72 over the mountains of northern Thailand.
-end-
By Rob Gutro
NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center

NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center

Related Tropical Storm Articles:

NASA looks at rainfall from Tropical Storm Dora
Now a tropical storm, Hurricane Dora has been skirting southwestern Mexico's coast since it formed and has transported tropical moisture onshore that has produced some heavy rain showers.
NASA examines potential tropical or sub-tropical storm affecting Gulf states
NASA's Global Precipitation Measurement mission or GPM core satellite passed over a developing low pressure area in the Gulf of Mexico and gathered two days of rainfall and storm height information.
NASA spots sub-tropical storm 11S still swirling
Once a tropical storm, now a sub-tropical storm, the remnants of the tropical low pressure area formerly known as 11S was spotted by NASA's Aqua satellite, still spinning in the Southern Indian Ocean.
Tropical Storm Meari forecast to intensify
Tropical Storm Meari is currently located 331 miles north of Ulithi which is an atoll in the Caroline Islands of the western Pacific Ocean.
NASA sees Tropical Storm Nicole going 'extra-tropical'
Tropical Storm Nicole was becoming extra-tropical when the NASA-NOAA Suomi NPP satellite passed over it from space and captured a visible picture of the storm.
NASA sees a much weaker Tropical Storm Lester
NASA's Aqua satellite provided an infrared view of Tropical Storm Lester that showed a lack of thunderstorm development around its center of circulation.
NASA's GPM examines Tropical Storm Lester
The Global Precipitation Measurement mission or GPM core satellite analyzed Tropical Storm Lester after it became the 12th named storm of the 2016 eastern Pacific Ocean on Aug.
NASA sees Tropical Storm Lionrock sonsolidating
NASA's Terra satellite captured a visible image of Tropical Storm Lionrock that revealed the storm is consolidating and strengthening.
NASA measures winds of Tropical Storm Omais
NASA's RapidScat instrument provided measurements of sustained wind speeds as Tropical Storm Omais was moving past Japan.
NASA sees tropical storm Howard weakening
Infrared data from NASA's Terra satellite has revealed that Tropical Storm Howard is weakening quickly as it continues to move over cooler waters in the Eastern Pacific Ocean.

Related Tropical Storm Reading:

Tropical Storm
by Melissa Good (Author), Barbara Maclay (Illustrator), Mardi Cook (Illustrator)

Book by Good, Melissa View Details


Florida Hurricanes and Tropical Storms: 1871-2001, Expanded Edition
by John M. Williams (Author), Iver W. Duedall (Author)

From reviews of the first edition:

"A comprehensive, factual, concise book on Florida hurricanes. . . . Land and space photographs and storm trajectory maps are especially informative. Williams and Duedall are experts on Florida meteorology, and they have written a superb book."--Choice

"Besides acting as a comprehensive historical and meteorological reference guide, this book is a necessity for every Floridian to have on hand during hurricane season. It not only contains lists of additional hurricane references and Internet addresses, as well as hurricane preparedness... View Details


Deluge: Tropical Storm Irene, Vermont’s Flash Floods, and How One Small State Saved Itself
by Peggy Shinn (Author)

On August 28, 2011, after pounding the Caribbean and the U.S. Eastern seaboard for more than a week, Hurricane Irene finally made landfall in New Jersey. As the storm headed into New England, it was quickly downgraded to a tropical storm. And by Sunday afternoon, national news outlets were giving postmortems on the damage. Except for some flooding in low-lying areas, New York City—Irene’s biggest target—had escaped its worst-case scenario. Story over.

But the story wasn’t over. As Irene’s eye drifted north, its bands of heavy rains twisted westward over Vermont’s Green... View Details


Florida Weather and Climate: More Than Just Sunshine
by Jennifer M. Collins (Author), Robert V. Rohli (Author), Charles H. Paxton (Author)

Florida is home to two of the world’s major types of climate―tropical wet-dry and humid subtropical. It ranks among the top states for tornadoes and is more frequently affected by lightning and thunderstorms than any other state. Florida is vulnerable to fog, drought, and wildfires. And it is notorious for its most prominent natural event―the hurricane.



This book explores the conditions, forces, and processes behind Florida’s surprisingly varied and dynamic weather. The authors discuss Florida’s location, landscape, and population, as well as the position of the... View Details


Tropical Warning: An Original Serge Storms Story and Other Debris (Serge Storms series Book 17)
by William Morrow

A quirky new collection by New York Times bestselling author Tim Dorsey. In the tradition of Pineapple Grenade and The Riptide Ultra-Glide, a peculiar new volume of odds and ends from the world of everyone's favorite Florida psychopath—Serge Storms!

Among the flotsam and jetsam of Dorsey's twisted universe:

A never-before-published Serge Storms short story that places the iconic antihero in one of Florida's oldest (and most remote) little towns.

A classic travel feature in London's The Guardian detailing how you can explore Florida's... View Details


Tropical Storm
by Melissa Good (Author)

From bestselling author Melissa Good comes a tale of heartache, longing, family strife, lust for love, and redemption. Tropical Storm took the lesbian reading world by storm when it was first written . . . Don't miss this exciting revised "author's cut" edition. Dar Roberts, corporate raider for a multi-national tech company, is cold, practical, and merciless. She does her job with razor-sharp accuracy. Friends are a luxury she cannot allow herself, and love is something she knows she'll never attain. Kerry Stuart left Michigan for Florida in an attempt to get away from her domineering... View Details


Tropical Storm Agnes in Greater Harrisburg (Images of America)
by Erik V. Fasick (Author)

Tropical Storm Agnes, along with the unprecedented flooding which resulted from it, is arguably the most significant event to have transpired in the Harrisburg area in the last 150 years. Over the course of June 21 and June 22, 1972, Agnes drenched the region with more than a foot of rain. As a result, the Susquehanna River rose to record-breaking levels and backed into the already overwhelmed feeding creeks and streams. In Harrisburg, armed National Guardsmen patrolled the vacant streets and set up checkpoints to enforce a curfew and deter looting. Surrounded by floodwaters, row homes near... View Details


Encountering and Avoiding Tropical Revolving Storms: A Practical Toolkit for the Mariner (MPDi Series Book 1)
by Maritime Professional Development Ltd

Tropical Revolving Storms pose an extreme challenge to the mariners; no matter how much information about these is available and accessed on board the ships.

In addition to being able to receive and analyse latest information about TRS, it is important that the mariner has the ability to make onboard observations to detect TRS in proximity. The analysis based on observed detection or information should allow the mariner to make an informed decision to clear the TRS and ensure safety of life, environment and the ship/cargo.

This practical guide has been put together... View Details


Moleskine Classic Ruled Soft Cover Notebook, Large 5 x 8.25-Inches (Classic Notebooks)
by Moleskine (Author)

The Soft Cover large notebook with ruled pages has a flexible yet sturdy cover that adapts to the movements of the body and fits comfortably in any pocket. This is a reliable travel companion, perfect for writings, thoughts and passing notes. Every Moleskine product is thread bound and has a soft cover with rounded corners, acid free paper, a bookmark, an elastic closure and an expandable inner pocket that contains the Moleskine history.

Specifications:
- Layout: Ruled Paper
- Dimensions: 5" x 8-1/4"
- Soft Cover with elastic closure and bookmark ribbon.
- Color:... View Details


Nim's Island
by Wendy Orr (Author), Kerry Millard (Illustrator)

A girl. An iguana. An island. And e-mail. Meet Nim–a modern-day Robinson Crusoe! She can chop down bananas with a machete, climb tall palm trees, and start a fire with a piece of glass. So she’s not afraid when her scientist dad sails off to study plankton for three days, leaving her alone on their island. Besides, it’s not as if no one’s looking after her–she’s got a sea lion to mother her and an iguana for comic relief. She also has an interesting new e-mail pal. But when her father’s cell-phone calls stop coming and disaster seems near, Nim has to be stronger and braver than... View Details

Best Science Podcasts 2017

We have hand picked the best science podcasts for 2017. Sit back and enjoy new science podcasts updated daily from your favorite science news services and scientists.
Now Playing: TED Radio Hour

Simple Solutions
Sometimes, the best solutions to complex problems are simple. But simple doesn't always mean easy. This hour, TED speakers describe the innovation and hard work that goes into achieving simplicity. Guests include designer Mileha Soneji, chef Sam Kass, sleep researcher Wendy Troxel, public health advocate Myriam Sidibe, and engineer Amos Winter.
Now Playing: Science for the People

#448 Pavlov (Rebroadcast)
This week, we're learning about the life and work of a groundbreaking physiologist whose work on learning and instinct is familiar worldwide, and almost universally misunderstood. We'll spend the hour with Daniel Todes, Ph.D, Professor of History of Medicine at The Johns Hopkins University, discussing his book "Ivan Pavlov: A Russian Life in Science."