Nav: Home

New route to polyamide 6 catalytic oxidation of cyclohexane with ferrocene in ionic liquid

September 14, 2017

Polyamide (PA) 6 is widely used in several industries and therefore economically very important. In its current industrial production process, first KA oil (a mixture of cyclohexanol and cyclohexanone) is obtained from cyclohexane ineffective oxidation (ca. 4% cyclohexane conversion to assure a reasonable selectivity, ca. 85%), and then converted, at high pressure and 150 ºC and in the presence of copper and chromium oxides, to cyclohexanone which is then used to form caprolactam, the monomer for produce PA 6.

Luísa Martins and Ana Ribeiro, Instituto Superior de Engenharia de Lisboa and Instituto Superior Técnico, Lisbon, Portugal, have developed a method for the oxidation of cyclohexane with tert-butyl hydroperoxide (70% aqueous solution) in the eco-friendly phosphonium ionic liquid medium, [P6.6.6.14][DCA], and in the presence of catalytic amounts of ferrocene at room temperature. This reaction is rather selective (> 98%), yielding only cyclohexanone with total TOFs up to 10 000 h-1 and does not require the use of VOC solvents, additives or heating.

This is the first time that a phosphonium ionic liquid has been successfully used as a solvent for the oxidative functionalization of alkanes. In fact, the combination of a commercial iron-complex catalyst (ferrocene) and well-adjusted unconventional reaction conditions have led to the development of a highly selective, fast and reusable catalytic system for the mild oxidation of cyclohexane. Moreover, the found [Fe(C5H5)2]/ [P6.6.6.14][DCA] catalytic system can be of applied significance to produce polyamide 6.
-end-
For more information on this study, please visit: http://www.eurekaselect.com/151792

Bentham Science Publishers

Related Catalyst Articles:

New efficient, low-temperature catalyst for hydrogen production
Scientists have developed a new low-temperature catalyst for producing high-purity hydrogen gas while simultaneously using up carbon monoxide (CO).
Multifunctional catalyst for poison-resistant hydrogen fuel cells
A Kyushu University-led collaboration developed a catalyst that can oxidize both hydrogen and carbon monoxide in fuel cells.
UK Chemistry researchers develop catalyst that mimics the z-scheme of photosynthesis
Published in Applied Catalysis B: Environmental, the study demonstrates a process with great potential for developing technologies for reducing CO2 levels.
New catalyst paves way for carbon neutral fuel
Australian scientists have paved the way for carbon neutral fuel with the development of a new efficient catalyst that converts carbon dioxide (CO2) from the air into synthetic natural gas in a 'clean' process using solar energy.
A rhodium-based catalyst for making organosilicon using less precious metal
Researchers at Tokyo Institute of Technology have reported a new catalyst composed of silica, a rhodium complex and tertiary amines(term1) that significantly boosts hydrosilylation reactions.
Splitting carbon dioxide using low-cost catalyst materials
EPFL scientists have built the first Earth-abundant and low-cost catalytic system for splitting CO2 into CO and oxygen, an important step towards achieving the conversion of renewable energy into hydrocarbon fuels.
Self-healing catalyst films for hydrogen production
Chemists at the Centre for Electrochemical Sciences at Ruhr-Universität Bochum have developed a catalyst with self-healing properties.
Argonne scientists make vanadium into a useful catalyst for hydrogenation
In a new study, Argonne chemist Max Delferro boosted and analyzed the unprecedented catalytic activity of an element called vanadium for hydrogenation -- a reaction that is used for making everything from vegetable oils to petrochemical products to vitamins.
Researchers report new, more efficient catalyst for water splitting
University of Houston physicists have discovered a catalyst that can split water into hydrogen and oxygen, composed of easily available, low-cost materials and operating far more efficiently than previous catalysts.
Researchers develop eco-friendly, 4-in-1 catalyst
Performing multiple reactions in one shot reduces raw material needs and byproduct waste, a potential step toward a greener chemical industry.

Related Catalyst Reading:

Catalyst (Breakthrough)
by Michael C. Grumley (Author)

In 1984 a doomsday vault was constructed on a remote island in the Arctic Ocean. Its purpose was to preserve Earth’s genetic history in the event of a global catastrophe. Now, decades later, a second vault has been uncovered. This one resting where no one ever expected. And the problem is…it’s not ours. Yet even more curious than the vault itself, is what lies inside. Seeds. Millions of seeds. Each with a genetic embryo untouched and perfectly preserved. Waiting. No one knows who built it. Or when. What we have managed to figure out is that whoever it was traveled an immense distance.... View Details


Catalyst (Star Wars): A Rogue One Novel
by James Luceno (Author)

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Lauded Star Wars author James Luceno returns to pen an intense tale of ambition and betrayal that sets the stage for Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

War is tearing the galaxy apart. For years the Republic and the Separatists have battled across the stars, each building more and more deadly technology in an attempt to win the war. As a member of Chancellor Palpatine’s top secret Death Star project, Orson Krennic is determined to develop a superweapon before the Republic’s enemies can. And an old friend of Krennic’s, the... View Details


Catalyst (Insignia)
by S. J. Kincaid (Author)

S. J. Kincaid has created a fascinating dystopian world for Insignia, her futuristic science-fiction adventure series perfect for fans of Ender’s Game. Earth is in the middle of WWIII, battling to determine which governments and corporations will control the resources of the solar system.

Teen Tom Raines grew up with nothing, some days without even a roof over his head. Then his exceptional gaming skills earned him a spot in the Intrasolar Forces, the country’s elite military training program, and his life completely changed.

Now in Catalyst, the... View Details


Catalyst
by Laurie Halse Anderson (Author)

Meet Kate Malone-straight A science and math geek, minister's daughter, ace long-distance runner, girlfriend, unwilling family caretaker, emotional avoidance champion. Kate manages her life by organizing it, as logically as the periodic table. She can handle it all-or so she thinks. Then, like a string of chemical reactions, everything happens: the Malones' neighbors get burned out of their home and move in. Because her father is a Good Man of God (and a Not Very Thoughtful Parent), Kate has to share her room with her nemesis, Teri Litch, and Teri's adorable, troublemaking little brother. And... View Details


Catalyst (Flashpoint) (Volume 2)
by Rachel Grant (Author)

When a food storage depot in famine-struck South Sudan is torched, American aid worker Brie Stewart flees, only to land in a market where she’s the next item up for auction. Is the attack on the aid facility another assault upon the war-torn fledgling democracy, or has her family set her up as a pawn in their quest for oil rights?

Chief Warrant Officer Sebastian Ford crossed paths with Brie years ago when she was a shill for her family’s company, pushing a pipeline that threatened his tribe’s land. Determined to lead the rescue operation to save her, he won’t let her... View Details


The Catalyst Effect: 12 Skills and Behaviors to Boost Your Impact and Elevate Team Performance
by Jerry Toomer (Author), Craig Caldwell (Author), Steve Weitzenkorn (Author), Chelsea Clark (Author)

Have you ever known colleagues who the minute they stepped into the conference room, on stage, or onto the playing field, elevated the performance of everyone around them? Someone whose impact within the team could be seen in nearly everything that was said and done?

These individuals are catalysts - they spark excellence in the behavior and the performance of the entire team.

The Catalyst Effect identifies the behaviors and skills needed to lead from wherever you are, regardless of your role or title. It describes powerful leadership and teamwork principles-12 clearly... View Details


Catalyst (Control Duology)
by Lydia Kang (Author)

For fans of Uglies and The Maze Runner comes a complex, thrill-filled love story that will make you question exactly what it means to be human

In the past year Zel lost her father, the boy she loves, her safety, and any future she might have imagined for herself. Now she, her sister, and the band of genetic outcasts they've come to call their family are forced on the run when their safe house is attacked by men with neural guns. But on the way to a rumored haven in Chicago, Zel hears something--a whisper from Cy, the boy who traded himself for her sister's safety.... View Details


Catalyst (A Tale of Barque Cats)
by Anne McCaffrey (Author), Elizabeth Ann Scarborough (Author)

Catalyst (A Tale of Barque Cats) View Details


Catalyst (The Deception Game)
by Kristin Smith (Author)

A fast-paced thrilling adventure, full of danger, romance, and deception--perfect for fans of Veronica Roth's Divergent series or Marie Lu's Legend.

Too pretty.
Too smart.
Too perfect.

In a crumbling, futuristic Las Vegas where the wealthy choose the characteristics of their children like ordering off a drive-thru menu, seventeen-year-old Sienna Preston doesn't fit in. As a normal girl surrounded by genetically modified teenagers, all of her imperfections are on display. But after the death of her father, everything... View Details


Catalyst (Laboratory Manual) (The Prentice Hall Custom Laboratory Program for Chemistry)
by Tim Thomas (Author)

View Details

Best Science Podcasts 2018

We have hand picked the best science podcasts for 2018. Sit back and enjoy new science podcasts updated daily from your favorite science news services and scientists.
Now Playing: TED Radio Hour

Peering Deeper Into Space
The past few years have ushered in an explosion of new discoveries about our universe. This hour, TED speakers explore the implications of these advances — and the lingering mysteries of the cosmos. Guests include theoretical physicist Allan Adams, planetary scientist Sara Seager, and astrophysicists Natasha Hurley-Walker and Jedidah Isler.
Now Playing: Science for the People

#461 Adhesives
This week we're discussing glue from two very different times. We speak with Dr. Jianyu Li about his research into a new type of medical adhesive. And Dr. Geeske Langejans explains her work making and investigating Stone Age and Paleolithic glues.