Field Museum gives prestigious Parker Gentry Award to Tanzanian anti-poaching activist

September 24, 2003

CHICAGO--The Field Museum announces it will give its eighth annual Parker/Gentry Award to Lorivi Ole Moirana, Chief Warden of Tanzania's National Park System, for his courageous and tireless efforts on behalf of Tanzania's parks.

While head warden of Ruaha National Park from the mid-1980s to mid-1990s, Moirana was responsible for shutting down some of the most extensive elephant poaching in the country. His current duties include management of anti-poaching work throughout Tanzania's national park system.

Moirana has also been active in expanding Tanzania's national parks as a means to protect their remarkable plant and animal life, and rich biodiversity. As chief warden of Kilimanjaro National Park from 1997 to 2001, he convinced the Tanzanian government to expand the park's boundary below the tree line to incorporate its distinct forest habitat, which had been subject to illegal logging. Largely through his passionate efforts, the park has been transformed into a compelling example of outstanding wilderness management and conservation.

"In an arena of wildlife and natural habitats under increasing pressure, Mr. Moirana is a shining light as a conservationist," said Bill Stanley, collection manager, mammals, at The Field Museum. "Respectful of the complexities of the problems, yet uncompromising in his objectives, Lorivi sets a sterling example of how we can conserve the unique biota of this planet."

In 2002, Moirana was one of two people honored with the first National Geographic Society/Buffet Award for Leadership in African Conservation.

Established in 1996 by an anonymous donor, the Parker/Gentry Award honors an outstanding individual, team or organization in the field of conservation biology whose efforts have had a significant impact on preserving the world's rich natural heritage - and whose actions and approach can serve as a model to others.

This year, The Field Museum will present the award to Moirana at a private reception October 7, 2003.

The Award bears the names of the late Theodore A. Parker III and Alwyn Gentry, ardent conservationists and leading naturalists. Parker, an ornithologist, and Gentry, a botanist, died on August 3, 1991, while surveying hill forests of western Ecuador. The pair worked closely with Field Museum scientists on several joint efforts, including the Rapid Assessment Program, a collaboration between The Field Museum and Conservation International.

Field Museum

Related Award Articles from Brightsurf:

Searching for the characteristics of award-winning wine
New WSU research shows large wine challenges tend to favor wines with high ethanol and sugar levels.

QUT professor honored with prestigious award
A QUT professor has become the first Australian since Professor Ian Frazer to receive the prestigious West Lake Friendship award.

International award for Strathclyde chemistry lecturer
A senior lecturer in Chemistry at the University of Strathclyde has won an international award for achievements in his field, including the development of techniques for diagnosing brain tumors.

2016 Young Investigator Award
Professor Tiago H. Falk of INRS's Energie Matériaux Telecommunications Research Centre has won the 2016 Young Investigator Award presented by Sigma Xi in recognition of his research excellence in physical sciences and engineering.

Award for ground-breaking measuring methods
This year the most important award in the field of metrology, the science of making precise measurements, was awarded to a team of five Frankfurt atomic physicists at Goethe University.

Humanitarian Award for Frankfurt-based physician
Professor Kai Zacharowski was presented an award by the Patient Safety Movement Foundation in California alongside US President Barack Obama and Vice President Joe Biden for his important contribution to reducing the number of preventable patient deaths.

International award for Oriol Romero-Isart
Oriol Romero-Isart, University of Innsbruck, is awarded the QIPC Young Investigator Award 2015 for his seminal contributions to many interdisciplinary topics in quantum physics, this week in Leeds, Great Britain.

Award for a pioneer of Alzheimer's research
British neuroscientist John Hardy will be awarded this year's 'Hartwig Piepenbrock-DZNE Prize' which is endowed with 60,000 Euro.

BMC wins 2015 Greenhealth Emerald Award and Circles of Excellence Climate Award
Boston Medical Center is the recipient of the 2015 Greenhealth Emerald Award and the Circles for Excellence Award by Practice Greenhealth in recognition of the hospital's sustainability efforts and innovation.

Biophysicist receives EliteForsk Award 2015
Biophysics professor Lene Oddershede of the University of Copenhagen's Niels Bohr Institute at the Faculty of Science will receive an EliteForsk Award -- Denmark's largest public research award -- on Thursday, Feb.

Read More: Award News and Award Current Events is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to