Seven E.O. Lawrence Award winners named

September 26, 2002

WASHINGTON, D.C. - Secretary of Energy Spencer Abraham today named the seven winners of the E.O. Lawrence Award. Each winner will receive a gold medal, a citation and $25,000. The award is given for outstanding contributions in the field of atomic energy, which today has influenced many fields of science such as environmental research, materials science and nuclear medicine that were in their infancy in 1960 when the first Lawrence Award was given.

"We are all enriched by the contributions these researchers have made ranging from understanding the genetic code to measuring the expansion of the universe itself," Secretary Abraham said.

The winners are: The Lawrence Award was established in 1959 to honor the memory of the late Dr. Ernest Orlando Lawrence who invented the cyclotron (a particle accelerator) and after whom two major Energy Department laboratories in Berkeley and Livermore, Calif., are named. The award is given in seven categories for outstanding contributions in the field of atomic energy, broadly defined. The Lawrence Awards will be presented at a ceremony in Washington, D.C., on October 28.

Brinker, a chemist, will receive the award in the Materials Research category for his innovations in sol-gel chemistry to create nanostructured materials that have applications to energy, manufacturing, defense and medicine. Brinker is a senior scientist at Sandia Labs, professor of chemistry and chemical and nuclear engineering at the University of New Mexico and co-director of the University's Center for Micro-Engineered Materials.

Fraser, a biologist, was honored in the Life Sciences category for her contributions to genome analysis technology, its extension to the understanding of microbial diversity and its application to human pathogens. She is president and director of The Institute for Genomic Research.

Goodwin, a physicist, will receive the award in the National Security category for his research focusing on the complex dynamics of the fission triggers of thermonuclear weapons. He is associate director for Defense and Nuclear Technologies at the Livermore Lab.

Hodgson, a chemist and structural biologist, was honored in the Chemistry category for his contributions to the development of synchrotron X-rays to the investigation of biological structure and function. Hodgson is a professor of chemistry at Stanford University and director of SLAC's Stanford Synchrotron Radiation Laboratory.

Perlmutter, an astrophysicist, will receive the award in the Physics category for his contributions to the discovery, through careful study of distant supernovae, that the expansion of the Universe is speeding up rather than slowing down. Perlmutter is an astrophysicist in the physics division of the Berkeley Lab.

Santer, a physicist, was honored in the Environmental Science and Technology category for his contributions to understanding the effects of human activities on the Earth's climate. He is a physicist in the Energy and Environment directorate of the Livermore Lab.

Turinsky, a nuclear engineer, will receive the award in the Nuclear Technology category for his contributions to the fuel cycle management of light water reactors that have significantly improved the safety and economics of nuclear power. Turinsky is technical director of North Carolina State University's Electric Power Research Center and head of the university's department of nuclear engineering.
Additional information on the winners and their work is available from their institutions' public affairs offices or the Department of Energy's press office at 202-586-5806.

DOE/US Department of Energy

Related Chemistry Articles from Brightsurf:

Searching for the chemistry of life
In the search for the chemical origins of life, researchers have found a possible alternative path for the emergence of the characteristic DNA pattern: According to the experiments, the characteristic DNA base pairs can form by dry heating, without water or other solvents.

Sustainable chemistry at the quantum level
University of Pittsburgh Associate Professor John A. Keith is using new quantum chemistry computing procedures to categorize hypothetical electrocatalysts that are ''too slow'' or ''too expensive'', far more thoroughly and quickly than was considered possible a few years ago.

Can ionic liquids transform chemistry?
Table salt is a commonplace ingredient in the kitchen, but a different kind of salt is at the forefront of chemistry innovation.

Principles for a green chemistry future
A team led by researchers from the Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies recently authored a paper featured in Science that outlines how green chemistry is essential for a sustainable future.

Sugar changes the chemistry of your brain
The idea of food addiction is a very controversial topic among scientists.

Reflecting on the year in chemistry
A lot can happen in a year, especially when it comes to science.

Better chemistry through tiny antennae
A research team at The University of Tokyo has developed a new method for actively controlling the breaking of chemical bonds by shining infrared lasers on tiny antennae.

Chemistry in motion
For the first time, researchers have managed to view previously inaccessible details of certain chemical processes.

Researchers enrich silver chemistry
Researchers from Russia and Saudi Arabia have proposed an efficient method for obtaining fundamental data necessary for understanding chemical and physical processes involving substances in the gaseous state.

The chemistry behind kibble (video)
Have you ever thought about how strange it is that dogs eat these dry, weird-smelling bits of food for their entire lives and never get sick of them?

Read More: Chemistry News and Chemistry Current Events is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to