Embedded Systems Design Group hosts colloquium

October 22, 2003

Blacksburg - The formation of an Embedded Systems Design Group at Virginia Tech will be inaugurated at an Oct. 29 colloquium featuring expert guest speakers on embedded systems from around the world.

The Virginia Tech Embedded Systems Design Group was formed to foster collaboration and enhance the productivity of designers of embedded systems. The main areas of research are VLSI design, network embedded systems, real-time systems, and fault-tolerant architectures for future nanotechnology based hardware design.

Colloquium speakers and their topics are Rajesh Gupta, Qualcomm Chair professor from the University of California at San Diego, who will speak on "Architecturing Embedded Microsystems;" Jean-Pierre Talpin, director of the Expresso Project, IRISA/INRIA, France, on "Formal Refinement Checking in the Embedded Systems Design Methodology;" and Krishnendu Chakrabarty, associate professor from Duke University, speaking on "Dynamic Adaptation for Fault Tolerance and Power Management in Real-Time Embedded Systems." James Aylor, professor from the University of Virginia, and Gregory Peterson, professor from the University of Knoxville, will also present.

Virginia Tech electrical and computer engineering faculty members involved with the new group include Dong Ha, Michael Hsiao, Sandeep Shukla, Binoy Ravindran, and Amitabh Mishra. Additional information about embedded systems research at Virginia Tech can be found at: http://www.ecpe.vt.edu/news/ar03/embedded.html.

The colloquium will be held at Donaldson Brown Conference Center from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. To register and for more information about the colloquium schedule, go to: http://www.visc.vt.edu/~skshukla/seminar.html.

Virginia Tech
Brightsurf.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.